« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Angie Wieck, Published October 28 2012

Namedroppers (October 28, 2012)

MSUM NEWS: Nathaniel Sand, son of Michael and Linda Sand, has been awarded an $8,000 President’s Honor Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. Recipients must rank in the top 5 percent of their high school class and score 28 or above on the ACT exam.

The 31st annual L.B. Hartz Professional Achievement Award banquet was recently held at MSUM. The 2012 L.B. Hartz Professional Achievement Award was presented to Tammy Miller, CEO of Border States Electric. Miller earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting and a master’s degree in business administration at MSUM. She has received two distinguished alumni awards and led MSUM’s Major Gifts Initiative to fund scholarships and the new Wellness Center on campus. Student L.B. Hartz Academic Achievement Awards were given to Nancy Iverson, daughter of Gale and Becky Iverson, Parkers Prairie, Minn., and Nathan Hollatz, son of Kevin and Angela Hollatz, Bismarck. The scholarships are given to reward academic accomplishments, service to the university and community and work experience.

NDSU NEWS: Lauren Barker, Gardner, N.D., is a member of the incoming professional class of nursing students at North Dakota State University.

GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS: The Cass Clay Security Society has awarded a scholarship from John Keating Scholarship Fund to Kyle Johnson of Fargo. The CCSS is made up of law enforcement and security officials. Johnson is pursuing a degree in law enforcement at Alexandria (Minn.) Technical and Community College.

Harmon Glass Doctor of Fargo-Moorhead has awarded scholarships to Nathan Harms, son of Ken and Carol Harms, Fargo, and Curtis Crowe, son of Trent and Cheryl Crowe, West Fargo. Scholarship opportunities were made available to dependents of employees.

Nicole Bruse, daughter of Connie and Kevin Bruse, Horace, N.D., has been awarded a North Dakota Dollars for Scholars State Scholarship. Bruse attends The Salon Professional Academy, Fargo.

MAKING THE GRADE: Katharine Herman, Fargo, was honored for academic achievement at Bowdoin College’s annual Sarah and James Bowdoin Day ceremony in Brunswick, Maine. Herman was designated a Sarah and James Bowdoin Scholar for ranking in the top 20 percent of each class for the previous academic year.

INTERNS AND CLERKS: Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D., has hired Britt Aasmundstad, Rachel Buening, Luke Turner and Bethany Myles as fall interns. Aasmundstad and Buening will work in Hoeven’s Washington office; Turner will intern at the Bismarck office, and Myles will work in Fargo. Interns will work with the senator and his staff on legislative, communication and administrative projects.

AND THE WINNERS IS…: Anna Donner, 13, of Ogema, Minn., took the top honors in the Tamarac Wildlife Refuge’s 11th annual photography contest. Her photo, “All in a Drop,” was chosen out of 153 entries. Anna also took home first place in the nature’s abstracts and youth categories. Contest photos can be viewed at www.tamaracfriends.org.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at http://www.areavoices.com/

name dropper.

Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or

e-mail her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.