« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published October 20 2012

Honors and Officers (October 20, 2012)

Super Lawyers 2012 list includes Joseph Turman

Joseph A. Turman has been included in the 2012 Great Plains Super Lawyers list.

Turman is the managing partner at the Turman & Lang law firm in Fargo. His primary practice is in the area of business litigation.

Derek Martin appointed to ND Board of Nursing

Derek Martin, a registered nurse and manager of clinical development at Hospice of the Red River Valley, Fargo, has been appointed to a two-year term on the North Dakota Board of Nursing.

He will serve on the Nurse Practice Committee, which reviews the Nurse Practices Act and Rules. He was selected based on his expertise in nursing.

Wallwork Truck Center earns national awards

Wallwork Truck Center, Fargo, has earned two national awards from PACCAR Inc., a global technology leader in the design, manufacture and customer support of light, medium and heavy-duty trucks under the Kenworth, Peterbilt and DAF nameplates.

Wallwork earned the Silver Award for exceptional customer service and the Connect Dealer of the Year Award for assembling the largest network of fleets and service providers using this new market technology.

Wallwork has been a Kenworth dealer since 1969 and serves the upper Midwest market.

NDSU recognizes Swiontek for service

North Dakota State University alumnus Steve Swiontek (1977) received the NDSU Development Foundation 2012 Service Award during a recognition event held in conjunction with 2012 homecoming.

Swiontek was recognized for his outstanding contributions to NDSU, the foundation and the NDSU Alumni Association.

A native of Edgeley, N.D Swiontek is the chairman, president and chief executive officer of Gate City Bank, Fargo. He is a member of the foundation’s board of trustees and served as Alumni Association president from 2001 to 2003.

He was chairman of the NDSU Presidential Search Committee in 1998 and 2010. He also served as NDSU student body president in 1975.

Swiontek was a state legislator from 1976 to 1984 and served on the Fargo School Board from 1985 to 1991.

Herman recognized for work in advocacy

June Herman, regional vice president for advocacy in North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska for the American Heart Association, is recipient of the American Heart Association’s Rome Betts Award for Excellence.

The national award recognizes outstanding staff who exemplify consistent high performance in their areas of expertise and demonstrate leadership, vision, dedication and professionalism.

Herman joined the American Heart Association in 1981 and has worked in advocacy since 1998. She is a graduate of California State University, Stanislaus, and she lives near Jamestown, N.D.

Sanford transplant programs earn awards

The Sanford Health transplant programs in Fargo and Sioux Falls, S.D., have earned the Bronze Award for Transplant Programs and the Bronze Medal of Honor for Organ Donations from the Department of Health and Human Services.

The transplant program award was based on Sanford’s work with kidney transplants including post-transplant survival rates, transplant rates on wait-list patients and pre-transplant mortality rates. The award positions Sanford in the top 23 percent of transplant programs in the country.

The organ donation award is presented to organizations achieving and sustaining national goals for collaborative conversion of organ donations, including a donation rate of 75 percent or more of eligible donors. Fargo and Sioux Falls transplant programs have a donation rate of nearly 80 percent.

This is the sixth time the Fargo medical center was honored for organ donations and the fourth time the Sioux Falls medical center received this recognition.

NDSU staff winners in writing competition

Herbert Snyder, James Clifton and William F. “Bud” Bowlin, all of North Dakota State University, received first place and a $2,000 cash prize in the IMA Educational Case Journal case writing competition for their case, “Alchemy: An Internal Auditing Case.”

Bowlin also won third place and a $500 cash prize for his case titled “Performance Measurement at Great Persons, Inc.: An Application of the Balanced Scorecard.”

IECJ is an online journal providing research for accountants and business finance professionals.

Cable One named to top 10 list for ISP speed

Cable One, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Washington Post Co., has been ranked by PC Magazine as one of the top 10 fastest Internet service providers in the nation.

PC Magazine tested ISP’s from January through September 2012 via Speedtest.net, the standard for testing Internet connection speed around the globe, and results of the test placed Cable One in the top 10.

Hot Springs Spas earns national sauna awards

Hot Spring Spas and Pool Tables, Fargo, has received the 2012 National Sauna Dealer of the Year and Showroom of the Year awards from Finnleo Saunas.

Vince Wuebker is owner of the business.

High Point Networks earns diamond status

High Point Networks, West Fargo, is the recipient of Extreme Network’s 2012 Top Diamond Revenue Award.

The award recognizes an Extreme Network partner that demonstrates outstanding achievements in revenue and certification goals.

During fiscal year 2012, High Point Networks achieved 187 percent of its revenue goal and over 100 percent of all certification attainment.

High Point Networks has earned the Diamond Partner status for the last five years.

Wrigley inducted into alumni academy at UND

Howard Wrigley, a 1961 mechanical engineering graduate, has been inducted into the Alumni Academy of Engineering and Mines at the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks.

Wrigley established Wrigley Mechanical in Fargo in 1978. He is chief executive officer.

DFC Consultants joins Microsoft user group

DFC Consultants has joined the Dynamic GL User Group as a premier partner member.

GPUG is an independent group of Microsoft Dynamics GP users, partners and industry experts recognized by Microsoft as the official user group for Dynamics GP.

DFC Consultants has offices in Fargo, Dickinson, N.D., and Bismarck and has served clients in a five-state region since 1989.

Builders group appoints Rasmussen to board

The Home Builders Association of Fargo-Moorhead has appointed Todd Rasmussen of Valley Lights, Fargo, to its 2012 board of directors.

Valley Lights has been a member of the HBA of F-M since 1986.

Andrews Herman named to Super Lawyer list

Sarah Andrews Herman of the Dorsey & Whitney law firm in Fargo has been named to the 2012 Great Plains Super Lawyers list in the area of employment and labor law.

Andrews Herman has practiced in the Fargo area since 1977.

Blake named to board of American Federal

Percy Blake has been named to the board of directors of American Federal.

He has been with American Federal since 1999 and will retire on Nov. 2 as president of the Crookston, Minn., market.

Blake has worked in the banking industry for 41 years. He graduated from North Dakota State University with a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics. He held county supervisor positions for the USDA-FmHA in Alexandria and Hallock, Minn., and the district office position in Crookston.

Blake also worked as a senior lender for the former Production Credit Association, Crookston, and was an ag lender and manager of Bremer Bank, Shelly, Minn.

Six Vogel attorneys named Super Lawyers

Vogel Law Firm attorneys have been named to the 2012 Great Plains Super Lawyers list as top attorneys in North Dakota.

The attorneys are Jerilynn Brantner Adams, family law: Jon Brakke, bankruptcy and creditor/ debtor rights; Lisa Edison-Smith, employment and labor; Mark Friese, criminal defense; Todd Haggart, personal injury defense: products; and Steve Johnson, business/corporate.