« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Angie Wieck, Published October 14 2012

Namedroppers (October 14, 2012)

NDSU NEWS: The North Dakota Women’s Club has awarded $1,000 scholarships to Taylor Headlee, Nisswa, Minn., Breanne Steffan, Fargo, and Amanda Weber, St. Paul.

Calli Doggett and Sara Huguelet, Fargo, were named to the summer dean’s list at NDSU.

Jenna Berg, daughter of Karl and Carol Berg, Fargo, has been admitted to North Dakota State University “with distinction.” Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging Berg as an honor student.

Breanne Steffan, Fargo, has been awarded the Undergraduate Research Fellowship from the American Society of Microbiology. The fellowship is aimed at highly competitive students who wish to pursue graduate careers in microbiology. Fellows have the opportunity to conduct full-time summer research at their institution with a society mentor and present their research results at the 113th General Meeting of the society in Denver, if their abstract is accepted. Each fellow receives up to a $4,000 stipend, a two-year student membership to the society and funding for travel expenses to the Presentation Institute and General Meeting.

The following area students are members of the incoming professional class of nursing students at NDSU: Jessica Bartholomay, Paige Bell, Samir Golos, Leah Green, Kacie Johnson, Brittany Jorgenson, Lucas Kalina, Vanessa Karels, Carly Kaspari, Jessica Leininger, Taylor Markel, Nicole Meyer, Alexander Olson, Fatuma Hassan Omar, Dexter Peries, Danielle Simenson, Rebecca Waibel, Leslie Werlinger, Joshua Wolf, Fargo; Alpha Chidera Duru, Laura Holsen, Craig Karjalainen, Brett Lyslo, Shawna Stowman, Moorhead; Lauren Casperson, Rhett Eskew and Meghan Schreier, West Fargo.

CONCORDIA NEWS: Noah Chapman, son of Rick Chapman and Joy Lintelman, Moorhead, has been accepted to attend Concordia College.

MSUM NEWS: Minnesota State University Moorhead has awarded scholarships to the following area students: Layne Krieg, child of Tim and Jenni Krieg, Fargo, $1,250 Talent Scholarship; Nathaniel Sand, child of Michael and Linda Sand, Moorhead, $8,000 President’s Honors Scholarship; Tyler Anderson, child of Brad Anderson, Fargo, $2,500 Founders Scholarship; Robert Trefethren, child of Tammy and Robert Trefethren, Fargo, $2,500 Founders Scholarship; and Torey Garletz, child of Earl and Julie Garletz, Fargo, $2,000 Upper Class Scholarship;

HOMECOMING NEWS: Fargo student Charlie Lahlum was named to the 2012 Homecoming Court at the North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: The North Dakota Long Term Care Association has awarded a $1,000 Allan B. Engen Nurse Scholarship to Debra Rustad, a resource certified nursing assistant at Bethany Retirement Living, Fargo.

RECENT GRADUATES: Kevin Chamberlain, Moorhead, has graduated with a master in fine arts degree from the University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Amatunoor Frederickson, Moorhead, has graduated from Cornell University Summer College, Ithaca, N.Y. The program invites talented high school sophomores, juniors and seniors to spend three or six weeks on the Cornell campus experiencing what it’s like to live and learn at the university. Students take official courses with leading Cornell faculty, earn college credits, get to know students from around the world, and explore majors and career options.

AND THE WINNER IS….: Artwork by Grace Solberg, a student at Fargo’s Bennett Elementary School, has been chosen to appear in Xcel Energy’s 2012-13 Energy Safety Calendar. Solberg is the only North Dakota winner, and one of 13 students nationwide whose drawing was chosen for the calendar, which features electricity and natural gas safety-oriented drawings by kindergarten-through-sixth-grade students.

COLLEGE BOUND: Aimee Knutson, Moorhead, and Bethany Storsved, Fargo, have been admitted to attend the University of Wisconsin, River Falls.

4-H NEWS: The Kevin and Connie Bruse family and the Lance and Connie Bruse family, both of Horace, N.D., were recognized as North Dakota 4-H Century Families at the Cass County 4-H Awards Celebration recently held at the Red River Valley Fairgrounds in West Fargo. To qualify, families needed to have a combined 100 years or more of direct-line family membership and volunteer service in 4-H. Participating members in the Bruse family were: Nicole and Travis Bruse, Vi Fremstad, Donna Bruse, Larry and Patsy Berg, Peggy Kirkelie, Eleanor Berg and Clarence Bruse. Members of the Belgarde family include Ryder, Parker and Jaide Belgarde, Judy Reger, Margaret Johnson and Signa Stenberg.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at http://www.areavoices.com/

name dropper.

Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or

e-mail her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.