« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published September 15 2012

Honors and Officers (September 15, 2012)

Vogel attorneys included in Best Lawyers list

Several attorneys at the Vogel Law Firm have been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2013 in their respective practice areas. The attorneys are:

Angie Lord, health care; Tami Norgard, environmental, litigation-environmental; Bruce Quick, criminal defense: non-white collar; criminal defense: white collar; and DUI/DWI defense; William Schlossman Jr., corporate and mergers and acquisitions; Robert Udland, medical malpractice-defendants; Nicholas Vogel, employee benefits, tax, trusts and estates; Joel Gilbertson, administrative/regulatory, government relations and insurance; and Leslie Bakken Oliver, health care.

Serkland lawyers named to Super Lawyer List

Five lawyers with the Serkland Law Firm in Fargo were named to the 2012 Great Plains Super Lawyers List. No more than 5 percent of the lawyers in the state are selected for the honor.

Attorneys and their areas of practice are: Jack Marcil, alternative dispute resolution, commercial litigation and personal injury; Ronald McLean, civil litigation; Roger Minch, alternative dispute resolution, banking law, business and commercial law, commercial litigation, creditor-side bankruptcy and creditor’s rights; Maureen Holman, family law; and Joseph Wetch, business and commercial law, personal injury, malpractice defense and insurance litigation.

Ohnstad Twichell lawyers honored

Three attorneys from Ohnstad Twichell in Fargo have been named to the 2012 Great Plains Super Lawyers List. No more than 5 percent of the lawyers in the state are selected for the honor.

Attorneys and their specialties are: Robert G. Hoy, personal injury, commercial and construction litigation and criminal defense; Brian D. Neugebauer, municipal law and municipal bonding; and Robert E. Rosenvold, estate planning, probate and real estate law.

Area Realtor group names award winners

The Fargo-Moorhead Area Association of Realtors has named Bob Lee of Park Co. Realtors as the Realtor of the Year. Robin Swanson, Superior Insurance, received the Affiliate of the Year award. Francine Gilmore, Coldwell Banker First Realty, has been awarded the Distinguished Service Award.

Lee was also nominated for state Realtor of the Year, who will be selected by the North Dakota Association of Realtors during their convention this month.

Rotary recognizes Paul Harris Fellows

The West Fargo Rotary has recognized the following seven members for becoming new Paul Harris Fellows for the Rotary Foundation and recognized two current fellows for reaching new levels of giving.

New fellows are: LeAnn Wolff, Earl Magnusson, Lisa Tate, Micah Arnold, John Trombley, Daphne Meyers and Kathleen Toft.

Carol Rogne and Deb Magnusson were current fellows recognized for new giving levels.

Dalrymple recognizes state employees

Gov. Jack Dalrymple has issued the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Public Service to the following six state employees who were recognized for their contributions to the state of North Dakota:

- Terry Whitmore, of Grand Forks, was recognized in the executive and administration category. She is the administrator of the Grand Forks Child Support Unit for the Department of Human Services.

- Cindy Bitz, of Minot ,was recognized in the professional category. She is a customer service specialist and PRIDE coordinator with Job Service North Dakota.

- Janine Trowbridge, of Fargo, was recognized in the technical and paraprofessional category. She is an office manager with North Dakota State University’s TRIO Programs, outreach programs designed to motivate and support students from disadvantaged backgrounds.

- Diane Axness, of Fargo, was recognized in the office support category. She is an academic assistant in the department of management and marketing at North Dakota State University.

- Marvin Hoff, of Jamestown, was recognized in the services category. He is an escort for the Department of Human Services at the North Dakota State Hospital in Jamestown.

- Ken Remmick, of Bismarck, was recognized in the trades and crafts category. He is a system mechanic with facility management, a division of the Office of Management and Budget.

The award recipients were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of judges who reviewed and scored the nominations.

Nominees were rated on their overall job performance, contributions to their department, commitment to customer service, working relationship with fellow workers and involvement in their community.

Respiratory therapist named to state board

Gov. Jack Dalrymple has appointed Jay Taylor to the North Dakota Tobacco Prevention and Control Advisory Committee for a three-year term.

Taylor is a respiratory therapist and tobacco education coordinator for Sanford Medical Center in Fargo. This will be his second term on the committee.

Fredrikson & Byron law firm earns honor

The law firm Fredrikson & Byron has received the gold standard certification for its success in providing professional opportunities and leadership roles for women equity partners from the Women in Law Empowerment Forum, which educates and provides networking opportunities for women in the legal profession. It was one of only four firms in the country to meet all six criteria for certification.

Fredrikson & Byron has offices in Minneapolis, Bismarck, Des Moines, Fargo, Monterrey, Mexico, and Shanghai, China.

Discovery Benefits finalist for BBB award

Discovery Benefits of Fargo has been named a finalist in the 13th annual Better Business Bureau Integrity Awards.

The award is given to companies that exemplify ethical behavior and display integrity in all aspects of their operations; toward their employees, vendors and customers; and within their community.

Winners will be announced at the Integrity Awards Centennial Gala Oct. 29 in St. Paul.

Toastmaster club elects new officers

The Fargo Toastmaster Club recently installed the following officers to the Top O’ the Morning Club:

Carolyn Ballard, president; Gene Schmidt, vice president of education; Jaclyn Knutson, vice president of membership; Brett Gilbertson, vice president of public relations; Eloise Deihl, secretary; Carmen Bruhn, treasurer; and Roger Johnson, sergeant of arms.

The club meets at noon the first, third and fifth Tuesdays at the Sons of Norway, 722 2nd Ave. N., Fargo.

For more information, visit topothemorning.toastmastersclubs.org.