« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published September 05 2012

Disaster declared in parts of ND due to drought

BISMARCK — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared an agricultural disaster for some parts of North Dakota due to the drought.

Gov. Jack Dalrymple and North Dakota's congressional delegation announced that Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack notified them of the declaration on Wednesday. The declaration makes farmers and ranchers in 16 counties in the state eligible for federal assistance because of damaged crops.

The counties covered by the declaration are Barnes, Benson, Cass, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Griggs, La Moure and Nelson.

Also, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Steele, Stutsman, Trail and Walsh counties were part of the declaration.

Copyright © 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. The information contained in the AP News report may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the prior written authority of The Associated Press.