« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published September 04 2012

VIDEO: Bohl says all eight Bison players charged with voting fraud still on team, will have their day in court

FARGO – The eight current North Dakota State University football players charged in connection with voter fraud tied to general election ballot measures are still members of the team.

In a news conference Tuesday, NDSU head coach Craig Bohl said all eight players – Aireal Boyd, Josh Colville, Demetrius Gray, Samuel Ojuri, Brendin Pierre, Antonio Rodgers, Bryan Shepherd and Marcus Williams – will have their day in court. No suspensions were handed out on Tuesday and seven of the eight players will travel with the team this Saturday when NDSU plays Colorado State at 6:06 p.m. CST in Fort Collins, Colo.

Gray is a redshirt freshman who will not travel.

The eight players are among 11 people facing charges, which were brought forth on Tuesday by North Dakota Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem and Secretary of State Al Jaeger.

Four of the accused players are starters on the defending national championship football team.

Williams – a The Sports Network Football Championship Subdivision Preseason All-American cornerback – intercepted seven passes last season and helped the Bison to a Division I FCS national championship.

Ojuri led the Bison in rushing a season ago with 1,105 yards and 11 touchdowns. He sat out the entire 2010 season for a team rules violation.

All are charged with facilitation of voter fraud or filing a false statement, according to Stenehjem and Jaeger.

The charges are Class A misdemeanors.

Check back for updates on this developing story.