« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published August 25 2012

Honors and Officers (August 25, 2012)

Sanford Health names area employees of year

Sanford Health has named the winners of their employee of the year awards.

Area winners and the number of years they have been employed with Sanford:

Judy Erickson, executive assistant in information technology, nine years; Elizabeth Rangel, service area assistant lead, patient access, Moorhead Clinic, 11 years; Jill Kruta, licensed practical nurse/mental health practitioner, Thief River Falls, Minn., four years; Rita Cowie, registered nurse, clinical manager, Pelican Rapids (Minn.) Clinic, 31 years; and Dr. Greg Bjerke, Fargo Emergency Center, 30 years.

Stiel-Paul recognized by club marketing group

Melissa Stiel-Paul, marketing director at the Fargo Country Club, has been recognized for the completion of a two-year term as president of the Upper Midwest Chapter of the Professional Club Marketing Association.

The national association for membership and marketing professionals at private clubs provides contemporary resolutions to complex club membership and marketing issues through information, education and networking.

Stiel-Paul has been involved with the organization for 12 years and is in her eighth year as a board member.

Crooks earns lifetime achievement award

Lynn E. Crooks, Fargo, retired assistant U.S. attorney, received the Richard S. Arnold Award for Distinguished Service and Lifetime Achievement for the District of North Dakota from the Association of the Bar of the United States Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit.

He received the award during the recent 8th Circuit Judicial Conference in Kansas City, Mo.

Also at the conference, Judge Myron H. Bright was named recipient of the American Inns of Court Circuit Professionalism Award.

Spitfire wins at Smokin’ on the Prairie contest

The competition barbecue team from Spitfire Bar and Grill in West Fargo was named the reserve grand champion at the Smokin’ on the Prairie competition on Aug. 4 in Gillette, Wyo.

The team, led by chief cook Tim Olson, placed in all four meat categories as part of the Kansas City Barbecue Society-sanctioned contest, including first place in the beef brisket category.

Francis earns award at IPPA exhibition

The International Professional Photographers Association has awarded a top honor of “loan” for a photographic print created by Dan Francis, Fargo,

Francis’ award-winning print will be on display at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta in January in conjunction with Imaging USA, an annual convention of professional photographers.

His print will also be included in the international traveling loan collection, which travels to different exhibits and is published in a book.

Red River IAAP chapter elects new officers

The Red River Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals has elected officers for 2012-13.

Those elected are Sheila Watson, president; Margo Rolczynski, president-elect; Jennifer Gjestvang, vice president; Peggy Cossette, secretary; Alyssa Blomquist, treasurer; and Ann Marschke, treasurer-elect.

Cole Papers to receive family business award

The 2012 FM Area Excellence in Family Business Award will be presented to the Cole/Perkins family of Cole Papers Inc. during the Prairie Family Business Conference Sept. 18 at Concordia College.

Cole Papers was founded in 1918 by Robert Cole, the father of the late Prentiss H. Cole. Until 1987, the business was called Fargo Paper Co., and over the years it has expanded several times.

Cole Papers now has nine locations throughout the Fargo area and serves customers in North Dakota, South Dakota, and areas of Montana, Minnesota, Iowa, Nebraska and Wisconsin.