« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Glenn Pursley , Published July 06 2012

Holland, Kappes start strong to open Forum All-City

MOORHEAD – Patience was as important as birdies Friday for golfers Connor Holland and Zach Kappes.

After a weather delay to start the day, Connor Holland defeated Blake Schwab 1-up after 19 holes and Zach Kappes took care of Peyton Johnson

2-up in the first round to advance to the second round of The Forum All-City golf tournament Friday at The Meadows.

Holland was satisfied with his performance on the back nine while taking the lead, but after making the turn he had a little more to worry about.

Trailing most of the round, Schwab’s opportunity to make a stand arrived. Schwab made back-to-back birdies on holes No. 8 and No. 9 to send the match to a playoff.

Holland made par on the extra hole to win the match.

“I played pretty solid,” Holland said. “I didn’t play too well on the front and he came back. He made a nice

birdie-birdie finish to extend it and we went into extras and I got it done, just made par.”

Holland posted the lower front-nine score during the qualifying round on Friday with a 2-under 34. He birdied four of the first 14 holes and made par on the rest. His first bogey came on the hole No. 15, and he closed out the back nine with a 37 after shooting over par on the last two holes.

Kappes had some excitement of his own in the qualifying round, he sank a 20-yard eagle chip on hole No. 14, a

513-yard par-five.

“I just wanted to get it up close for a birdie,” Kappes said. “Hit a great chip, rolled out perfectly, hit the center of the stick and dropped. It was a little unexpected, just got lucky once. It was nice to help the score and get a little confidence.”

Kappes shot over par on only two holes to finish the round and qualify with a 70. He shot bogey on hole 3 and hole 15.

“I got down early, but took control and just made par,” Kappes said. “It’s all you can ask for. A lot of the holes were playing a lot different. Tough pins, tough conditions.”

Kappes birdied hole 9 to take the lead away from Pat Deitz heading into the back nine with a 35.

Deitz, the current course record holder with a 62, birdied three holes and double-bogeyed hole 6 and bogeyed hole 9 to finish the front nine with an even 36. Deitz only had two birdies on the back nine, but with no bogeys posted, he closed out the back nine with a 34 to pick up the stroke lost to Kappes earlier and qualify with a 70.

Deitz kept his pace going with a 6 and 5 victory over Jon Hauff in the first round on Friday and will face Pat Thomas in the second round at 7 a.m. today. Thomas defeated Jay Olafson after a two-hole playoff.

Holland will tee off against 2010 champion Nathan Anderson and Kappes is matched against Bill Carlson at 7:20 a.m. Anderson qualified with a 78 on Friday and won 2-up over Bobby Reuter.

Qualifying scores

1 (tie), Zach Kappes and Pat Deitz, 70. 3 (tie), Connor Holland and Hunter Thorsen 71. 5 (tie), Coy Papachek and Ben Welle 72. 7, Riley Johnson 73. 8 (tie), Andrew Strand, Trenton Olson, Bryant Buckellew and Dan Matheson 74.

12, Bobby Reuter 75. 13 (tie), Steven Brown and Pat Thomas 76. 15 (tie), Landon Poss and Derek Ambrosie 77. 17 (tie), Nick Evin, A.J. Bates, Bill Carlson and Nathan Anderson, 78.

22, Jay Olafson 78. 23 (tie), Logan Palmer, Mason Kennedy, Erik Weiss, Tyler Rivard, Cody Cederberg, Justin Johnson and Blake Schwab, 80. 29 (tie), Jon Haif, Brock Ellingson and Payton Johnson 81.

32 (tie), Scott Torgeson, Brandon Slemtoen, Matt Parker, John Sund and Sam Worwa, 82. 37 (tie), Cody Cook, Austin Pulczinski, Chris Clark and Adam Eshenko 83.

41 (tie), Ben Goehring, Cody Pulczinski, Hunter Halvorson and Matt Traynor, 84. 45 (tie), Matt Chambers, Trevor Swangler and Michael Storandt 85. 48, Bryan Larson 86. 49, Jared Cowden 87. 50, Grady Meyer 88.

51, Rob Goff 89. 52, Joshua Quamme 91. 53, Tyler Crouse 93. 54, Nick Olsgaard (defending champion).

Championship flight

Nick Olsgaard, def. Matt Parker, 4 and 2

Derek Ambrosie, def. Landon Poss, 1 up (19)

Riley Johnson, def. Erik Weiss, 6 and 5

Trenton Olson, def. Cody Cederberg, 2 up

Connor Holland, def. Blake Schwab, 1 up (19)

Nathan Anderson, def. Bobby Reuter, 2 and 1

Hunter Thorsen, def. Justin Johnson 6 & 5

Andrew Strand, def. Nick Evin, 1 up

Pat Deitz, def. Jon Hauff, 6 & 5

Pat Thomas, def. Jay Olafson, 1 up (20)

Ben Welle, def. Mason Kennedy, 1 up (20)

Bryant Buckellew, def. Logan Palmer, 2 & 1

Zach Kappes, def. Peyton Johnson, 2 up

Bill Carlson, def. Steven Brown, 7 & 5

Coy Papachek, def. Tyler Rivard, 4 & 2

Dan Matheson, def. A.J. Bates, 7 & 6

Tee times

Championship flight

Tee No. 1

7 a.m.: Nick Olsgaard vs. Derek Ambrosie; Pat Dietz vs. Pat Thomas

7:10 a.m.: Riley Johnson vs. Trenton Olson; Mason Kennedy vs. Bryant Buckellew

7:20 a.m.: Connor Holland vs. Nathan Anderson; Zach Kappes vs. Bill Carlson

7:30 a.m.: Hunter Thorsen vs. Andrew Strand; Coy Papacheck vs. Dan Matheson

First flight

Tee No. 1

7:40 a.m.: Grady Meyer vs. (bye); John Sund vs. Matthew Traynor

7:50 a.m.: Brandon Sietmoen vs. Cody Pulczinski; Chris Clark vs. Same Worwa

Second flight

Tee No. 1

8 a.m.: Austin Pulczinski vs. (bye); Jared Cowden vs. Ben Goehring

8:10 a.m.: Eric Erdmann vs. Tyler Leabo; Hunter Halvorson vs. Brock Elllingson

Third flight

Tee No. 10

7:40 a.m.: Joshua Hagelstrom vs. (bye); Rob Goff vs. Scott Torgerson

7:50 a.m.: Adam Eshenko vs. Michael Storandt; Tyler Crouse vs. Trevor Swangler

Fourth flight

Tee No. 1

8:20 a.m.: Joshua Quamme vs. (bye); Nathan Shoenack vs. Craig Phillips

Tee No. 10

8:20 a.m.: Mike Muhonen vs. Cody Cook; Matt Chambers vs. Bryan Larson

Fifth flight

Tee No. 1

8:30 a.m.: Mike Holland vs. (bye); Cole Johnson vs. Jeff Knutson

Tee No. 10

8:30 a.m.: Rob Beer vs. Aaron Johnson; Jim Johnson vs. Tom Erdmann

Sixth flight

Tee No. 10

8:20 a.m.: Anthony Cusher vs. (bye); Tyler Johnson vs. Roger Eli

8:30 a.m.: Jason Scherr vs. Randy Cook; Jerry Jacobs vs. (bye)

Readers can reach Forum reporter Glenn Pursley at (701) 241-5549