« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published July 06 2012

Major federal disaster declared in wake of northeast Minn. flooding

Federal aid is coming to the Northland to help with costs from the June 19-20 rainstorm and flooding that left more than $100 million in damage to public infrastructure.

A major federal disaster declaration has been secured by the state for 13 Minnesota counties and three tribal nations following the severe storms and flooding that struck areas of the state in June.

Gov. Mark Dayton’s office made the announcement Friday afternoon, a week after visiting Duluth for a second time and getting better damage estimates.

The disaster declaration covers Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Crow Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Kandiyohi, Lake, Meeker, Pine, Rice, Sibley and St. Louis counties, as well as the Fond du Lac Tribal Nation, the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe and the Grand Portage Tribal Nation.

The declaration means these areas are eligible for public aid. The Federal Emergency Management Agency will cover 75 percent of costs related to fixing or replacing roads, bridges or other public facilities.

The state also requested individual assistance damage assessments for five counties and one tribe: Aitkin, Carlton, Lake, Pine and St. Louis counties as well as the Fond du Lac Tribal Nation.

Those assessments will begin July 11. Individual assistance provides federal money to residents and businesses who suffered flood damage not covered by insurance.