« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published June 23 2012

Honors and Officers (June 23, 2012)

Local engineering firms earn excellence awards

The American Council of Engineering Companies of North Dakota has named the winners of its 2012 Engineering Excellence Awards. The winners include:

- Moore Engineering, West Fargo, in the water and wastewater category for a sewer and water improvement project in West Fargo.

- Kadrmas, Lee & Jackson, Fargo, in the transportation category for the South University Drive reconstruction project in Fargo.

- Houston Engineering, Fargo, in the surveying and mapping technology category for the Ward County inundation mapping and hydraulic modeling project.

Wiersma, Ronning, Johnson to lead VFW

Arthur W. Jones VFW Post 7564, Ladies Auxiliary and Military Order of Cooties Pup Tent 8 has held elections and installation of officers for 2012-2013.

Mike Wiersma, an Army veteran with 24 years of active duty and National Guard service, was elected as the post commander.

Line officers elected are John Thoemke Jr., senior vice commander; Jamie Olson, vice commander; Bill Tuff, quartermaster/adjutant; Joy Mikyska, judge advocate; Nic Jalbert, chaplain; and Joseph Best, surgeon.

Trustees are Craig Johnson, Rick Fuller and Russell Berg. House committee members are Daryl Best, Bob Geske, Richard Belling and Don Faith.

Janet Ronning is the newly elected president of the ladies auxiliary. This is her second term as auxiliary president.

Serving as auxiliary line officers are Laurie Tostenson, senior vice president; Betsy Olson, junior vice president; Joyce Weible, treasurer; Jill Shoman, chaplin; Jackie Faith, conductress; Vicki Paradis, guard; and Patti Tuff, secretary.

Trustees are Agnes Rieniets, Marge McClellen and Mary Ann Hudson.

Craig Johnson is the newly elected commander of the Military Order of Cooties, Pup Tent 8 of West Fargo. Johnson served in Korea and has lived in West Fargo for 30 years. He is the past commander of VFW Post 7564 and was recently selected as all-state post commander.

Fargo Homewood Suites winds TripAdvisor award

Homewood Suites by Hilton, Fargo, has earned the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award.

The award honors hospitality excellence and is given to establishments that consistently achieve outstanding traveler reviews on TripAdvisor.

Tom Kasper is general manager of the hotel.

John Knosalla named to President’s Circle

John Knosalla, a Realtor with Prudential Premier Real Estate, Fargo, has been named to the President’s Circle for 2011 by Prudential Real Estate.

The award recognizes the top 3 percent of residential sales professionals or sales professional teams who exemplified significant sales for the year.

Renay Rutter recognized for sales excellence

The Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Executives recognized statewide leaders in membership sales at its annual conference in St. Cloud.

Renay Rutter, director of membership for The Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber of Commerce, was recognized with the highest number of memberships sold during the last year, totaling 277.

Rutter competed among the largest chambers, with total revenue exceeding $750,000.

State Bank and Trust wins workplace awards

State Bank and Trust, based in Fargo, has received two awards from Minnesota business publications.

The bank was named the second-most highly ranked large company among the “100 Best Companies to Work For” by Minnesota Business magazine. It was also recognized for the second straight year by the Minneapolis Star Tribune by being named to the top 10 of the “Top 100 Workplaces in Minnesota.”

The “100 Best Companies” award recognizes Minnesota companies that are setting the standard for leadership, benefits, work environment, innovative training and employee happiness.

The awards recognize small, mid-sized and large businesses, and are based on a survey of more than 5,600 employees from companies across Minnesota.

Spitfire Bar and Grill wins SD championship

The barbecue competition team from Spitfire Bar and Grill, West Fargo, was named overall grand champion at the recent Original South Dakota BBQ Championship in Huron.

The team placed first in chicken, second in ribs and pulled pork and was first in overall points.

Rick named to electrical contracting academy

Gregory Rick, president of Rick Electric, Moorhead, has been selected to become a fellow of the Academy of Electrical Contracting of the National Electrical Contractors Association.

The academy honors outstanding leaders in the electrical contracting field. Rick is from the Dakotas Chapter of NECA.

Installation into the academy is scheduled Sept. 30 at the NECA Convention in Las Vegas.