« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published June 10 2012

Editorial: Forum’s selections for ballot

Here is a review of The Forum’s endorsements of candidates and questions on North Dakota and local ballots:

North Dakota measures

Measure 1 – To allow legislators to be appointed to full-time government offices under specific conditions. YES (See editorial below.)

Measure 2 – To repeal property taxes. NO

Measure 3 – A religious liberty constitutional amendment. NO

Measure 4 – To retire the University of North Dakota Fighting Sioux logo/nickname. YES.

City of Fargo

City commissioner – Melissa Sobolik, Mike Williams.

Park commissioner – Barb Johnson, Joel Vettel.

Flood sales tax extension – YES.

Fargo schools

Jim Johnson, Paul Meyers, Robin Nelson, John Strand.

City of West Fargo

City commissioner – Mark Simmons, Mike Thorstad.

Park commissioner – Kathy Scully, Todd Rheault.

West Fargo schools

Gail Flom, Patti Stedman, Kay Kiefer.

Tuesday is Election Day.