« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published June 09 2012

Honors and Officers (June 09, 2012)

Pharmacy tech director named to advisory board

Mary Stende, Fargo, director of the pharmacy technology program at Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Moorhead, has been named to the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy Technician Training Advisory Committee, which provides professional advice on pharmacy technician standards in Minnesota.

As part of her work with the committee, she will serve on a panel at the Minnesota Pharmacist Association Pharmacy Technician conference in July in Minneapolis.

The panel will be addressing the topic of professionalism in the pharmacy technician career field.

Jill Berg re-elected to advisory board

Jill Berg, president and owner of Spherion staffing companies in Fargo and Bismarck, has been re-elected to a two-year term on the franchise advisory board.

She is one of five board members who work with Spherion owners and management to provide strategy direction and promote business initiatives.

She has been a Spherion owner for 18 years.

Gymnastics group elects board of directors

The American Gold Gymnastics board of directors has elected new members to the board.

Those elected are Virgil Seibold, president; Krista Andrews, vice president; Erica Usselman, secretary; and Rick Rayl, treasurer.

New members elected include Shannon Thronton and Brian Osowski.

Eman Yassin receives Soroptimist award

Soroptimist International of Moorhead has named Eman Yassin as the winner of its 2012 Women’s Opportunity Award.

She is a student at Minnesota State Community and Technical College in Moorhead and received a $500 grant, a $250 bookstore certificate and a $5,000 grant from the North Central Region of Soroptimist of the Americas. Her application will also be considered for one of three $10,000 national awards.

Yassin fled her home in Iraq to Jordan in 1999. She was persecuted in Iraq because she was a journalist advocating for human rights and freedom. She remained in Jordan for 10 years while she waited for acceptance into the Lutheran Social Services program for refugees, which brought her to the Fargo-Moorhead area.

Yassin supports her husband and children, is a full-time student and serves as a diversity volunteer and advocate at the Rape and Abuse Crisis Center in Fargo.

Beta Gamma Sigma chapter honors Miller

Tammy Miller, chief executive officer of Border States Electric, Fargo, has been inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma of Minnesota State University Moorhead as the first chapter honoree.

She was honored as a professional who has furthered the society’s ideals of honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom and earnestness through outstanding business and managerial leadership.

In 2007, Miller and her husband, Craig Palmer, made a significant financial contribution to the MSUM School of Business, which provided funding for the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business accreditation and scholarships.

MSUM achieved accreditation of its business programs by AACSB International in 2010, and as a result the school was able to establish a chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma in 2011.

Marco receives awards from HTG Peer Groups

Steve Knutson, chief information officer of Marco, Fargo, has received the Group Member of the Year Award from HTG Peer Groups, an international organization of leading information technology solution providers.

Marco also received HTG’s Top Revenue Award.

Award winners were announced during the recent HTG Summit in Dallas.

Ross Florhaug honored at national meeting

Ross Florhaug, an insurance adviser with TCI Insurance, Wimbledon, N.D., was recognized at the recent Nationwide Agribusiness Co. national sales conference in Monterey, Calif., as one of the company’s leading writers of farm insurance.

Sagvold, Kraft named agents of the month

American Family Insurance has named Cami Sagvold, Moorhead, the northwestern Minnesota District 67 agent of the month and Ken Kraft, Fargo, as District 386 agent of the month.

Both received the honor for outstanding sales of American Family insurance products in May.

Four elected to Eide Bailly board of directors

Kevin Doyle and Rick Steen have been elected to Eide Bailly’s board of directors.

The board also elected current members Mark Martens to serve as chairman of the board and Linda Koerselman to serve as vice chairwoman.