« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published May 26 2012

Bison baseball ousted in championship of Summit League tournament

TULSA, Okla. – North Dakota State had two attempts Saturday at winning the Summit League baseball tournament championship and securing a berth in the NCAA tournament. But Oral Roberts pulled out victories in both games, sending the Golden Eagles to the NCAAs.

Oral Roberts won 4-1 in the first championship, forcing a second title game since that was NDSU’s first loss in the double-elimination format. ORU then won again 4-3.

“There’s not much else to say,” NDSU baseball head coach Tod Brown said. “A lot of pain. A lot of emotion.”

It proved to be a roller coaster week for the third-seeded Bison, who had pulled off back-to-back upsets of No. 2 Oakland and No. 1 Oral Roberts to get into the position they were in Saturday.

The Golden Eagles broke a 1-1 tie in the ninth inning of Game 1 when third baseman Jose Trevino hit a three-run home run off Bison pitcher Kyle Kingsley.

In the second game, NDSU jumped out to a 2-0 lead thanks to Nick Anderson’s two-run double.

But the Golden Eagles responded with a four-run fifth inning. After scoring a pair of runs to tie the game, Jared Schlehuber’s two-run homer broke the tie and put ORU in front for good.

“We had opportunities,” Brown said, “but we just did not get that big hit. That’s baseball.”

Despite the tough pair of losses to end the season, Brown said hopefully by the summer, the players can look back on a 40-20 campaign and be proud of it.

“That’s pretty special,” Brown said.

OR 010 000 003– 4 7 3

NDSU 000 000 010– 1 4 2

Torrence, Smith (8), Liguori (9) and Pickar. Ernst, Heck (6), Anderson (8), Kingsley (9) and Steen. W–Smith (2-1). L–Kinglsey (7-4). S–Liguori (1). HR–OR, Trevino (13).

NDSU 200 000 100– 3 10 2

OR 000 040 000– 4 8 3

Wentz, Anderson (6) and Steen. ZuFall, Spring (1), Bowen (7) and Pickar. W–Spring (6-2). L–Wentz (2-6). S–Bowen (1). HR–OR, Schlehuber (13).

Summit League all-tournament team

Simon Anderson, North Dakota State

Drew Bowen, Oral Roberts (MVP)

Tim Colwell, North Dakota State

Jason Hager, Oakland

Nolan Jacoby, Oakland

Brandon King, Oral Roberts

Kyle Kingsley, North Dakota State

Kyle Kleinendorst, North Dakota State

Brad Royer, Southern Utah

Tim Ryan, Oakland

Jared Schlehuber, Oral Roberts

Joe Spring, Oral Roberts

Mike Torrence, Oral Roberts

Jose Trevino, Oral Roberts

Have a comment to share about a story? Letters to the editor should include author’s name, address and phone number. Generally, letters should be no longer than 250 words. All letters are subject to editing. Send a letter to the editor.