« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published May 19 2012

Honors and Officers (May 19, 2012)

Park Co. Realtors named to Trends 500

Park Co. Realtors, Fargo, has been named to the Real Trends 500. The firm ranked 451st with 1,220 residential transaction sides closed in 2011.

The company was also included in two other lists in the report. A new ranking the company received this year is the Top Five-Year Movers list. It recognizes firms that had the largest increase in closed sales volume from 2007-2011. Park Co. was also ranked 95th in The Largest Independents list.

Sweeney elected chairman of NATA board

Jim Sweeney, president of Fargo Jet Center, has been elected chairman of the National Air Transportation Association Board of Directors.

Sweeney’s involvement with NATA started in 1995 when Fargo Jet Center began operations at Hector International Airport. He joined the board of directors in 2010.

Sweeney will serve as chairman this year and finish out his term on the board in 2014.

NATA advocates for aviation in Washington, D.C., on issues that affect the entire United States. Recent issues include the opposition to user fees, support of Federal Aviation Administration reauthorization and the large-aircraft security program.

YMCA’s FM Gators elect new board members

The YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties FM Gators Swim Team has elected new members and positions to the board.

New members are: Brent Wical, president; Tracy Roche, local swimming committeerepresentative; Kim Rueb, registration chairwoman; Scott Winter, member at large; and Abby Astrup and Emily Roche, athlete representatives.

Chiropractor receives award from On Purpose

Dustin J. Barton of Core Health Chiro, Fargo, has been named the May Chiropractor of the Month by On Purpose, an organization that recognizes excellence in the commitment of chiropractors to the public and the chiropractic profession in advancing wellness.

Three elected at federal employee convention

Three Fargo-Moorhead chapter members were elected to state offices at the recent National Active and Retired Federal Employees annual convention in Grand Forks.

Those elected include: Don Lein, Glyndon, Minn., second vice president; Al Shafer, Fargo, secretary; and Shirley Shafer, Fargo, treasurer.

MEA elects Tom Heng as chairman of board

Tom Heng of Magnum Electric, Moorhead, has been elected chairman of the Minnesota Electrical Association board of directors.

Heng previously served on the MEA continuing education committee and also as vice chairman, secretary and treasurer on the board of directors.

U.S. Bank honors three with Pinnacle Award

U.S. Bank has awarded three employees with its Pinnacle Award for outstanding achievement and superior performance during the first quarter of 2012.

The award winners are: Jackie Ness, relationship manager in the business banking department at the downtown Fargo office; Nikki Grebel, branch manager of the office in Valley City, N.D.; and Linda Hopkins, branch manager of the office in Wahpeton, N.D.

Fisher, Jeanotte named to national Ford panels

Steve Fisher has been named to the Ford Motor Co. Service Adviser Panel and Mike Jeanotte has been named to the company’s Technician Review Panel.

Fisher has been employed at Luther Family Ford in Fargo since 2004 and is a Ford master certified service adviser. Jeanotte has worked for Luther Family Ford since 1996 and is a Ford master certified technician.

The Service Adviser Panel consists of 22 service advisers, one from each of Ford’s 22 geographic regions in the United States. To be considered for the panel, advisers must be employed full time at a Ford or Lincoln dealership and have at least three years of experience as an adviser at a Ford or Lincoln dealership.

The Technician Review Panel is a forum for Ford to receive feedback from technicians on issues that affect dealerships. Members must have at least three years of experience at a Ford or Lincoln dealership and must be certified in at least two service technician specialty training curriculums.

Both panels meet twice a year in Dearborn, Mich.

AmericInn honors Klaers with MVP Award

AmericInn has honored Nick Klaers, owner of AmericInns in Fergus Falls, St. Cloud, Bemidji and Sauk Centre, all in Minnesota, and in Fargo, with the Most Valuable Player award, the top systemwide award for leadership excellence.

Klaers opened his first AmericInn 20 years ago, and has been a pioneer with the AmericInn brand since.

Klaers was selected for the award from owners throughout the AmericInn system of 220 locations in 23 states.

Family Wellness earns Universal Access Award

Family Wellness, Fargo, has received the 2011 Universal Access Award from the Metro Area Mayors Committee for People with Disabilities and Freedom Resources Center.

The award is presented to a business in the metro area. The business must meet the minimum requirements set by the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Family Wellness, a partnership between Sanford Health and the YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties, was designed and outfitted with equipment that allows persons with disabilities to access exercise, fitness and wellness programs, the locker room, swimming pool and track areas.

Rural Minnesota CEP earns award for service

The Rural Minnesota Concentrated Employment Program has been named the state of Minnesota Provider of the Year.

The award was based on RMCEP’s commitment to quality customer service and responsibility with taxpayer investments in helping people find jobs or get needed training.

Rural Minnesota CEP operates offices in Moorhead, Alexandria, Fergus Falls, Detroit Lakes, Bemidji, Brainerd, Wadena and Little Falls.

Elim, Bethany receive national awards for care

Elim Rehab and Care Center and both campuses of Bethany Retirement Living, all in Fargo, have received 2012 Bronze Commitment to Quality awards through the National Quality Award Program and presented by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living.

The program honors facilities across the nation that have demonstrated dedication to improving lives through quality care.

Dale Fischer elected to Crystal Sugar board

Dale Fischer has been elected to American Crystal Sugar Co. board of directors.

He will represent the Moorhead Factory District, filling a vacancy resulting from the death of Dale Kuehl.

Fischer has grown sugar beets in the Moorhead area since 1973. He has served on the Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association Board and on the Board of the Farmers Union Oil Co., Moorhead, where he is a past chairman.

Four earn VA nursing excellence awards

The Fargo VA Health Care System has announced the winners of its 2012 nursing excellence awards. The category and winners are:

Nursing assistant: Susan Germundson; licensed practical nurse: Deb Liedholm; registered nurse, Angela McCarvel; and expanded role: Amanda Holland.

Dacotah Paper earns environmental award

Dacotah Paper, Fargo, has been recognized by Cascades Tissue Group with the company’s Environmental Distributor Achievement Award in honor of its partnerships and dedication to furthering environmentally preferable products.

Dacotah Paper was one of 27 U.S. and Canadian distributors to receive the award.

Each distributor was recognized for offering tissue paper products to its commercial and industrial customers made from 100 percent recycled fiber, instead of virgin fiber, which collectively conserved 255,700 trees and avoided emissions of greenhouse gases equivalent to taking 12,785 cars off the road for one year.