« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published April 29 2012

Namedroppers (April 29, 2012)

NDSU NEWS: North Dakota State University has awarded scholarships to the following students: Samantha Berard, daughter of Craig and Jean Berard, Fargo, $100 Fashion and Apparel and Business Organization Award Scholarship and a $320 Janecek Scholarship; Sara Kinzler, daughter of Don and Mary Kinzler, Fargo, $880 Frances Swenson Memorial Scholarship; Janet Morken, daughter of Dave and Roxanne Morken, Walcott, N.D., $690 Cora Corwin and Charles and Betty Corwin Scholarship, $500 Ruth Lavon Nye Williams Scholarship, and a $220 Sandy Shelton Memorial Scholarship; Nichole Wendt, daughter of Michael and Malissa Wendt, West Fargo, $1,770 Dr. Evelyn Morrow Lebedeff Memorial Scholarship.

MSUM NEWS: Fargo students Billy Schnase, child of Laurel Schnase, and Andrea Volk, child of Barbara Volk, will participate in the Minnesota State University Moorhead Student Exchange program in the fall. Schnase will attend Texas State University, and Volk will attend Queens College, City University of New York. Applicants must be full-time students with a grade point average of 2.5 or higher. Students must complete an application, obtain two letters of recommendation, and meet with the NSE Coordinator prior to selection for the program.

JAMESTOWN COLLEGE NEWS: The following students were recognized at the Jamestown (N.D.) College Honors Convocation: Matthew Achter, Taylor Bush, Katelynn Dauwen, Jill Gustafson, Dustin Herrmann, Hannah Langseth, Katie Lee, Leah Olmstead, Alexa Olschlager, Beth Paulson, Amanda Schultz, Nicholas Schultz and Zachary Thorseth, all Fargo; Emily Anderson, Morgan Mathison, Paul Roers and Kyle Van Dyke, Moorhead; Austin Dillard, Reile’s Acres, N.D.; Brandon Anderson, Jon Reznecheck and Jordan Shive, West Fargo.

UND NEWS: Eric Flacksbarth, Fargo, was recently named University of North Dakota Student Employee of the Year and was then submitted to the Midwest Association of Student Employment Administrators Regional Student of the Year Committee, which awarded him the State Student Employee of the Year as well. Flacksbarth worked for two years for the Office of the Associate Vice President of Finance and Operations at UND. He was nominated for the award based on his professionalism and quality of work.

MAKING THE GRADE: Kathryn Davies, Fargo, was named to the dean’s list at Columbus (Ohio) State Community College.

HONOR SOCIETIES: Kathryn Hauff, daughter of David and Eileen Hauff, Fargo, has been selected for induction into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at the College of Saint Benedict, St. Joseph, Minn. Selection for induction is based on college major and grade point average.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at http://www.areavoices.com/

name dropper.

Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or e-mail her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.