« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published April 21 2012

Honors and Officers (April 21, 2012)

Hartman earns MDRT membership for 2012

Steven R. Hartman, an agent for New York Life Insurance, Fargo, has earned membership in the Million Dollar Round Table for 2012.

Membership represents the top life insurance and financial services professionals worldwide. Hartman has achieved membership for 18 years.

Dietrich Construction earns building award

Dietrich Construction, Fargo, was awarded first place in the ag on-farm category in Behlen Building Systems’ annual Building of the Year Contest.

Dietrich earned the award for a 9,200-square-foot building at Schrader Farms in Adrian, N.D.

National housing group honors John Gunkelman

The National Association of Home Builders has named John Gunkelman, president of Dakota Construction, Fargo, as the 2011 Certified Graduate Builder of the Year.

He received the award in recognition of his successful efforts to raise awareness of the educational designation designed for seasoned home builders.

Crops institute earns exporter support award

The Northern Crops Institute has received the 2011 Service to Exporters Award from the North Dakota Trade Office.

The award is an accolade given to one organization that demonstrates exceptional commitment to supporting North Dakota exporters and increasing the state’s international business.

Jamestown credit union earns marketing awards

First Community Credit Union, Jamestown, N.D., has received two Diamond Awards, which recognize outstanding marketing and business development achievements in the credit union industry.

The awards were presented by the Credit Union National Association Marketing and Business Development Council.

Jon Erickson earns Silver Award for sales

Jon Erickson, a certified insurance counselor with Insure Forward, Fargo, has earned a Silver Producer Award for sales in 2011.

He has earned sales production awards from Insure Forward for the last three years, including Top Producer.

Financial advisers earn client service awards

Mark R. Bierdeman and Angie McCarthy, financial advisers with Ameriprise Financial, Fargo, have each received awards from RiverSource Life Insurance Co.

The awards recognize financial advisers who have helped clients use annuity solutions to plan for retirement.

Physicians named to ND medical examiners panel

North Dakota Gov. Jack Dalrymple has appointed Dr. Genevieve Goven, Valley City, N.D., and Dr. Jonathan S. Haug, Grand Forks, to four-year terms on the North Dakota State Board of Medical Examiners.

Goven is a family practice doctor at the Sanford Health Valley City Clinic.

Haug is an anesthesiologist and chairman of the department of anesthesiology at Altru Hospital, Grand Forks.

Both are graduates of the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, and both earned medical doctorates from the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Courtyard earns award for community service

The Courtyard by Marriott and Moorhead Area Conference Center has been awarded The Quarterly Award for Community Service from Marriott International.

The award recognizes programs, partnerships, volunteer activities, financial and in-kind donations.

During the past year, Courtyard by Marriott has spent time with 4-H activities, and at Moorhead’s Dorothy Day Food Pantry, Nokomis Child Care Centers of The Village Family Service Center, Ronald McDonald House Charities of the Red River Valley, Fill the Dome and Great Plains Food Bank. It will also host the inaugural Sweet Miracles event this month to benefit the Children’s Miracle Network at Sanford Children’s Hospital, Fargo.

Jim Jensen qualifies for MDRT membership

Jim Jensen, a financial adviser with Securian Financial, Valley City, N.D., has earned membership in the Million Dollar Roundtable, the association of financial professionals.

Membership represents the top life insurance and financial services professionals worldwide.

Two compete in district Toastmaster contest

Seventeen clubs from five areas participated in international speech and evaluation contests at the recent Toastmaster International Speech Contest in Fargo.

John Fode of Gate City 759 Toastmaster Club took first place in the international speech contest, and Joyce Eisenbraun of the Continum Toastmaster Club won the evaluation contest. Both advanced to the District 78 contest that will be held through today in Pierre, S.D.

Northland Educators FCU elects directors

Rick Gion, account executive with Radio Fargo-Moorhead, and Rian Nostrum, director of residence life at North Dakota State University, have been elected to the board of directors of Northland Educators Federal Credit Union, Fargo.

Re-elected to a second term on the board was Barbra North, professor emeriti of NDSU. All three will serve a three-year term.

Three named to Bethany board of trustees

Jean Bokinskie and Roger Olson, Fargo, and John Hertsgaard, Kindred, N.D., have been elected to the board of trustees at Bethany Re-tirement Living, Fargo. Lloyd Smith, Cambridge, Minn., was elected to a second three-year term.

Bokinskie is associate professor of nursing and director of the parish nurse ministry program at Concordia College.

Olson is senior vice president at Meinecke-Johnson Co., Fargo, Smith is a retired health care executive, and Hertsgaard is partner/owner of Hertsgaard Farms and president and chief executive officer of SpaceAge Synthetics.

Board officers elected include Martha Leclerc, chairwoman; Smith, vice chairman; Janice Nelson, treasurer; and Dr. David Glatt, secretary.

Other trustees are Shannon Charpentier, Neil Eriksmoen, Harriette McCaul and Paul Wilson, all from Fargo.

Mary Johnson, Oxbow, N.D., and Robin Pratt, Northwood, N.D., retired from the board.

Village earns awards for child, family services

The North Dakota Family Based Services Association has honored The Village Family Service Center in Fargo with the program award for its family team decision-making pilot program, and the group’s President’s Award went to Jim Martini, a family-based therapist in The Village’s Grand Forks office.

The decision-making initiative is an early intervention program that immediately involves the family when making decisions about a child’s safety and placement.

Martini is a clinical supervisor and family-based therapist. He has been with The Village since 2001. He has an associate degree in history from the University of Notre Dame, a bachelor’s degree in history from Loyola University of Los Angeles, and a bachelor’s degree in psychology and a master’s degree in counseling from the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks.

Local financial reps receive industry honor

Josh Bach, Ryan Botner, Mike Mathias, Kevin Mjelstad and Dan Maertens, financial representatives with Northwestern Mutual, Fargo, have qualified for membership in the Million Dollar Roundtable, an international, independent association of leading life insurance producers.

The roundtable indicates sales and service achievement and is a recognized mark of excellence for life underwriters.

Mathias has also qualified for the Court of the Table for demonstrating professional knowledge, client service and ethical conduct. Mathias is a 24-year roundtable member and a three-time Court of the Table qualifier.

Botner and Mjelstad are three-year roundtable members, Maertens is a seven-year member, and Bach is a first-time member.