« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Helmut Schmidt, Published April 06 2012

Filings for Fargo, West Fargo school boards sparse

FARGO – With less than a week until the filing deadline for Fargo and West Fargo school board elections, candidates are relatively sparse.

The Fargo School Board has four of its nine positions up for election in June, while the West Fargo School Board has three of its seven spots to fill.

In Fargo, the four-year posts held by board President Jim Johnson, Vice President John Strand, Paul Meyers and Robin Nelson are up for election.

Four people have filed for the four Fargo seats. They are:

• Strand, a co-owner of the High Plains Reader, a Red River Valley arts and entertainment weekly publication.

He has served one term on the board.

• Nelson, the executive director of the Boys and Girls Club/Youth Commission in Fargo.

She was appointed to the school board in 2003, and has won election to the board twice.

• Meyers, a financial adviser and owner of Legacy Wealth Management.

He was appointed to the board in 2000 and re-elected twice.

• Lillian Jones, an independent consultant with Jones Legal LLC of Fargo.

Johnson said he hasn’t decided whether he will run again.

In West Fargo, the four-year positions held by President Ben Koppelman, Vice President Patti Stedman and Kay Kiefer are up for election.

Four have filed for the three West Fargo seats. They are:

• Stedman, co-owner of the accounting firm of Bradley L. Stedman Ltd. She has served one term on the board.

• Kiefer, who works for Independent Family Doctors. She has served one term on the board.

• Jeff Shirley, who works for Noridian Administrative Services (via Kelly Services).

Shirley is a former board member. He was appointed to the board in 1997, won election twice, and resigned in 2003 when he moved out of the district.

• Shelley Treib, employed by the North Dakota Soybean Council and Cummins NPower, Fargo.

Koppelman will not seek re-election. He is running as a Republican for one of the two District 16 seats in the North Dakota House.

Fargo School Board members are paid $1,000 per month.

West Fargo board members are paid $4,100 per year.

There are no filing fees or petitions needed to be on the ballot. However, candidates must file an affidavit of candidacy and a statement of interests form.

The statement requires candidates to disclose the financial and business interests of themselves or their spouses, and the groups or institutions they have close ties to that could be affected by their actions if elected to office.

The filing deadline for both districts is 4 p.m. April 13, officials said.

In West Fargo, candidates can file at the district offices in the Leidal Education Center, 207 Main Ave. W.

In Fargo, candidates can file downtown at the main administrative offices, 415 4th St. N.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Helmut Schmidt at (701) 241-5583