« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published April 05 2012

Vizenor re-elected tribal chairwoman

WHITE EARTH, Minn. – Erma Vizenor was re-elected White Earth tribal chairwoman with 55 percent of the vote in Tuesday’s White Earth Reservation primary election.

Kenneth “Gus” Bevins was also re-elected, receiving 56 percent of the votes cast for District III representative.

Because they received more than 50 percent of the votes, Vizenor and Bevins were automatically re-elected to four-year terms and do not need to move on to a general election that was scheduled for June 12.

Vizenor was first elected chairwoman in 2004, when she defeated former leader Darrell “Chip” Wadena.

In Tuesday’s election, Vizenor received 1,126 votes, followed by challengers Kenneth M. Coleman Jr. with 747 votes; Char Lee-Ovaldson with 87; Karen M. Manypenny with 40; and Sally Littlewolf with 31.

Bevins received 559 votes, followed by Tara M. Mason with 237; Martha Williams with 75; Mike T. Smith with 62; Mike “Stink” Bevins with 37; and Paul A. Soyring with 28.