« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published March 30 2012

Honors and Officers (March 31, 2012)

Churchwell appointed to ethics committee

The Minnesota Supreme Court has appointed Long Prairie attorney Timothy M. Churchwell as chairman of the Seventh District Bar Association’s Ethics Committee.

The Seventh District includes Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd and Wadena counties.

Churchwell replaces Perham attorney Steven R. Peloquin.

Asche honored for 2011 mutual fund sales

Thrivent Financial has honored Steve Asche for outstanding mutual fund sales and service for 2011.

He finished the year ranked fourth in mutual fund sales among more than 2,300 Thrivent representatives across the nation.

He has been a financial representative with Thrivent since 1991.

Xcel earns Energy Star award for efficiency

Xcel Energy has earned Energy Star’s Sustained Excellence Award for continued leadership in delivering energy efficiency to its customers.

An Energy Star partner since 2001, this is the third year Xcel Energy has been recognized nationally by the program. In 2009 and 2011, Xcel won Partner of the Year.

Johnson wins Sir Speedy gold level sales award

Neil Johnson, a salesman at Sir Speedy in Fargo, has been recognized as a 2011 Gold Level Top Performer.

The award is presented annually to recognize top achievers in the Sir Speedy franchise network.

This year, Johnson was one of only 25 salespeople who received Gold Level status from more than 300 worldwide.

Lien earns ND award from advertising group

Dan Lien was awarded the 2012 Silver Medal Award by the American Advertising Federation of North Dakota.

The award recognizes the best of the best in the region’s advertising, marketing and communication industries.

Recipients are chosen by a committee based on contributions to advertising, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern.

Lien began his career working at a department store and as an account representative at a radio station. In 1982, he began a career at Video Arts in Fargo where he was sales manager, writer, director and producer. He has won numerous Addy awards locally and regionally and has judged Addy contests for other clubs.

Local photographer earns awards at contest

Local photographer Dan Francis received the top portrait award for his photograph titled “The Traveler” at the recent Northern Lights Photography convention in Fargo.

He also received a national Kodak Gallery award, people’s choice award and one of the judges named the photo their favorite of all images.

Francis also received a Kodak Gallery award for his illustrative image, “Abandoned Faith.”

NHS ranked as a top management company

National Hospitality Services, Fargo, has been recognized by Hotel Management in its selection of “2012 Top Third-Party Management Companies.” The recognition appears in the March 2012 issue of Hotel Management.

NHS was ranked 112 out of the top 200 management companies in the country.

Rural electric group names award winners

Several individuals were recognized with awards at the recent North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives annual meeting in Bismarck. Awards were:

• Cooperative Leadership Award: Everett Dobrinski, chairman of Verendrye Electric Cooperative, Velva and Minot.

• Helping Hand Award: North Dakota Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem.

• Community Service Award: George Berg, who recently retired as president and chief executive officer of Nodak Electric Cooperative, Grand Forks.

• Wally Buyer Rural Development Award: Dennis Rodin, employee with the United States Department of Agriculture.

• North Dakota Living Magazine Center Pages Award: Verendrye Electric Cooperative, Velva and Minot.

• Service awards: Presented to NDAREC employees Kent Brick, editor of North Dakota Living, for 20 years of service, and to Clarice Kesler, e-communications manager, for 30 years of service.

Olaf Anderson named Ceco builder of the year

Olaf Anderson Construction, Fargo, an authorized Ceco Building Systems builder, was named 2011 Builder of the Year, Midwestern Region and a 2011 Top Ten Builder of the Year at the recent Ceco national sales meeting in Las Vegas.

The company was also recognized for achieving $30 million in cumulative sales and $4 million in annual sales.

Olaf Anderson Construction was founded 99 years ago. Jeff Furstenau serves as president and Jed Krieg is vice president.