« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published April 01 2012

Namedroppers (April 01, 2012)

MAKING THE GRADE: Chandler Holzbauer, Breckenridge, Minn., and Paige Slater, Fargo, were named to the fall semester dean’s list at Alexandria (Minn.) Technical and Community College.

Davis Thompson, Pelican Rapids, Minn., has achieved academic ranking in the top 2 percent of students in the College of Business at Iowa State University, Ames.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: The North Dakota Winter Show Foundation has awarded scholarships to Phillip Wanner of Wishek, N.D., and Justin Zahradka of Lawton, N.D. Both plan to major in crop and weed sciences at North Dakota State University. To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must be residents of North Dakota, meet criteria of academic standing, have enrollment plans at a North Dakota college or university, and demonstrate leadership, character and citizenship.

RECENT GRADUATES: Moorhead High School student Megan Lundborg has been accepted to attend Concordia University, St. Paul. Lundborg has also been awarded Transfer Regents and Phi Theta Kappa scholarships, which will provide a total of $10,000 in funds.

AND THE WINNER IS ...: Five Park Christian School students were winners in the Minnesota State Science Fair.

Special awards were:

- Haleigh Larson, 10th grade: USDA-ARS Environmental Science Award; Ecolab Green Award, first place; and Wolfram Research Mathematica Award in Environmental Management.

- Molly Jasperse, eighth grade: American Chemical Society Award, honorable mention; and

Medtronic Award, second place.

- Andre Sawchuk, 10th grade: Beckman Coulter Award, first place.

Grand awards were:

- Amy Anfinrud, 10th grade, gold medal.

- Olson Langness, seventh grade, bronze medal.

Fargo Shanley High School student Matthew Donahue won second place in the North Dakota State Poetry Out Loud: National Recitation Contest. He was awarded a $100 award as well as a $200 donation to the Shanley library. Poetry Out Loud is a national arts education program that encourages the mastery of poetry by offering educational materials and a dynamic competition to high schools across the country.

HIGH HONORS: Sen. Kent Conrad, D-N.D., has chosen Fargo native Ingrid King to be North Dakota’s 2012 Cherry Blossom Princess. King will represent North Dakota in the National Conference of State Societies’ Annual Cherry Blossom Festival. King is the daughter of Susan and Gorman King of Fargo.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at www.areavoices.com/


Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.