« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published March 25 2012

Namedroppers (March 25, 2012)

MAKING THE GRADE: Harshita Gaba, Fargo, has been named to the honor roll at Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass.

NDSU NEWS: Dirk Jasperse, son of Craig and Tamara Jasperse, Moorhead, has been admitted to North Dakota State University “with distinction.” Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging Jasperse as an honor student.

AWARDS AND OTHER RECOGNITIONS: The Fellowship of Christian Athletes of North Dakota recently presented Gene and Sue Boyle of Lake Park, Minn., with the Walt Sherman Award. The award is given to outstanding volunteers who have committed to serving FCA. The Boyles plan to retire this year after mentoring students for nearly 40 years.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: Western State Bank has awarded $300 2012 Future Checking Scholarships to the following students: Crystal Boerger, Dane Johnston, Monique Hill-Rameriz, Carissa Becher and Sarah Denne, all West Fargo; and Haylee Swanson, Valley City, N.D. To qualify, students must receive a high school diploma or GED, be admitted as a full-time student to a post-secondary institution, be registered and enrolled for the fall 2012 semester and have a Future Checking account with Western State Bank.

Tyler Loll, a student at North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, has been named a 2012 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar. He will receive a $2,000 scholarship and will be recognized in the April 23 issue of USA Today along with the other 49 scholars. Selection was based on the score earned in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition, where Loll achieved the highest score in North Dakota. Judges also considered grades, leadership, activities and how students extended their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.

National Farmers Union has awarded Rochelle Bitz, daughter of Darrell and Danita Bitz, Napoleon, N.D., a $1,000 Scholarship. Selection was based on academics and a written essay.

AND THE WINNER IS ... : Two students from Ada-Borup (Minn.) High School were top ten finishers in the Tri-College Mathematics Contest recently held at Concordia College. Austin Ganns placed third, and Brett Knudsen also placed in the top 10.

The following students were winners in a chess tournament recently held at Fargo North High School:

Kindergarten through third grade: Allen Wu, first; Isaiah Soori, Braxton Middaugh, Mickey Kenney, Ryan Kennelly, second.

Fourth and fifth grade: Cade Busek, first; Landen Kjos, second; and Steven Eddy, third.

Sixth through eighth grade: Keshava Katti, first; Sawyer Kenney and Brooks Kenney, second; Myron Boivin, Akriti Saxena, Cole Kirkpatrick and Mason Roth, third.

Ninth through 12th grade: Elias May, first; Kasey Dilbeck, second; Carl Steele, third.

Alex Braun of Fargo and Vasanta Wettasinha of Sri Lanka tied for first place in the ranked tournament for adults.

STUDYING ABROAD: Several area students will travel to London and Paris this summer through the People to People Student Ambassador Elementary School’s program “The Tale of Two Cities.” Students representing Western Minnesota and Eastern North Dakota are: Brenden Clem, child of C.J. and Craig Clem, Wahpeton, N.D.; Adam Cooper, child of Paula Cooper, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Lexi Dauner, child of Rick and Denelle Dauner, Moorhead; Brianna Flowers, child of Saundra Flowers, Moorhead; Mia Kenyon, child of Terri Kenyon and Bob Schmidt, Moorhead; Lane Loewen, child of Brett and Liz Loewen, Vergas, Minn.; Annamarie Schlecht, child of Kristina Schlecht, Fargo; Page Schoer, child of Gretchen and Casey Schoer, Fargo; and Kjersten Winkelman, child of Dave and Nicol Winkelman, Fargo. The group will be led by Barb Stack, Moorhead.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at www.areavoices.com/name dropper.

Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.