« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Dave Campbell / AP Sports Writer, Published March 20 2012

Janning named AP Player of the Year

MINNEAPOLIS – Marissa Janning’s basketball career for Watertown-Mayer High School began in seventh grade with an invitation from head coach John Rosholt to join the varsity squad for practice.

She flourished down the stretch of her sophomore season, facing constant double teams for the first time but helping lead the Royals to the state tournament in 2010. She finished her five-year run with 3,587 points, the fourth-most in Minnesota girls history.

Janning was named the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year on Tuesday. She was joined on the AP’s all-state team are Braham junior guard Rebekah Dahlman, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva sophomore guard Carlie Wagner, Hopkins junior guard Nia Coffey and Eden Prairie senior forward Jackie Johnson.

Janning finished with a state-record 458 made shots from 3-point range, a per-game average her senior year of more than 30 points – and just one regret. Watertown-Mayer was beaten 54-51 in the section playoffs with a loss to eventual Class 2A champion Providence Academy, just the fourth defeat of the season for the Royals. Providence Academy, a Catholic school in the Minneapolis suburb of Plymouth, beat Watertown-Mayer in the section playoffs the year before, too.


Marissa Janning, Watertown-Mayer


Marissa Janning, sr, Watertown-Mayer

Rebekah Dahlman, jr, Braham

Carlie Wagner, so, New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva

Jackie Johnson, sr, Eden Prairie

Nia Coffey, jr, Hopkins


Tessa Cichy, sr, Hill-Murray

Jessica January, jr, Richfield

Alexis Foley, sr, White Bear Lake

Whitney Tinjum, sr, Chisago Lakes

Kali Peschel, sr, Sauk Centre


Note: Area players only

Sydney Boike, fr, Crookston

Sarah Durand, sr, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo

Angie Erickson, sr, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo

Shelby Kaster, so, Win-E-Mac

Andi Knudsvig, sr, Lake Park-Audobon

Megan Kolness, jr, Ada-Borup

Taylor Kujava, sr, Ada-Borup

Mattie Lueck, sr, Pequot Lakes

Jenna Lundon, sr, Waubun

Madison McKeever, 8th, Win-E-Mac

Emily Miron, jr, Wadena-Deer Creek

Katrina Moenkedick, sr, Perham

Mariah Monke, sr, Fergus Falls

Kayli Muckenhirn, sr, Detroit Lakes

Jessy Noreen, sr, Hawley

Sydney Schultz, sr, Fergus Falls

Tatum Sheley, jr, Pine River-Backus

Bailey Strand, so, Pelican Rapids

Heather Strese, sr, Brandon-Evansville

Lauren Trumm, sr, Alexandria