« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Angie Wieck, Published March 18 2012

Namedroppers (March 18)

MAKING THE GRADE: Paul Johnson, Fargo, was named to the honor roll at the University of Dallas, Irving, Texas.

CONGRATULATIONS!: The following students were named to the North Dakota Association of Secondary School Principals 2012 Academic All-State Teams.

Class A:

Gold Team: Teagan Lende, Fargo Davies; Carter Aus, Fargo South.

Silver Team: Farah Attia and Katrina Rudisel, Fargo North; Brett Johnson, Fargo Shanley; Yihang Chu, Fargo South; Andrea Meyer and Theresa Schlangen, West Fargo.

Bronze Team: Shayla Gustafson, Fargo Davies; Malena Mastel, Kelsey Rodgers, Fargo North; Maxwell Tolstedt, Fargo Shanley; Patrick Lin, Fargo South; and Cameron Dutt, West Fargo.

Honorable mentions: Jennifer Brandt, Daniel Nicla, Jace Riggen, Devils Lake; Conrad Camrud, Benjamin Spokely, Janelle Wanzek, Fargo Davies; Sarah Russell, Fargo North; Peter Bachmeier, Aloysia Pfeiffer, Fargo South; Matthew Kopp, Patrick Lane, John Nagel, Jim Tang, Jamestown; Sonnet Grueneich, Andrew Kawasaki, Valley City; Eric Christensen, Megan DeVillers, Carson Miller, Wahpeton; Tanner Brossart, Jacob Fischer and Matthew Prochniak, West Fargo.

Class B:

Gold Team: Joseph Ueland, Josh Roesler, Central Cass, Casselton; Nicole Osmundson, Oak Grove Lutheran; and Marie Goerger, Wyndmere.

Silver Team: Dorothy Tegtmeier, Northern Cass, Hunter; Casey Reinke, Kindred; Kelsey Hoge, Northwood; and Jason Hahn, Thompson.

Bronze Team: Haylee Archer, Finley-Sharon; Kaitlin Lindsey, Inkster-Midway; and Jacob Aberle, Lisbon.

Honorable mentions: Julia Wold, Carrington; Olivia Johnson, Colfax-Richland; Theresa Heier, Edgeley; Alysia Bartholomay, Enderlin; Thaddaeus Owen, Gackle-Streeter; Ashley Brodehl, Granville; Jacob Greenmyer, North Sargent, Gwinner; Brenna Stein, Hankinson; Amber Feickert, Harvey; Tori Rude, Hillsboro; Daniel Bjertness, Kindred; Tyler Thielges, LaMoure; Zach Pulford, Larimore; Christopher Ridley, Litchville-Marion; Aaron Rekken, May-Port CG, Mayville; Josh Knutson, Milnor; David Leier, Napoleon; Cassidy Weber, New Rockford-Sheyenne; Bree Vculek, Oakes; and Wade Steidl, Tower City-Maple Valley.

SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS: Western State Bank has awarded West Fargo students Tanner Brossart and Sierra Peterson $250 Western Pays for A’s savings scholarships. Students in grades 6-12 are encouraged to bring their report cards into Western State Bank each quarter. In return for A’s, students are given a packet of coupons or gift certificates from area businesses. The bank also awards two $250 scholarships each semester from those students in grades 9 - 12 who brought in their report cards. Students receive an entry for each A they earn.

HIGH HONORS: Joseph Ueland, a senior at Central Cass High School in Casselton, N.D., was recently named a candidate in the 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Candidates were selected based on performance on the College Board SAT or ACT Assessment. Semifinalists will be announced in early April. Ueland is the son of Jim and Ann Ueland.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at www.areavoices.com/name dropper.

Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or

email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out how to submit your news and accomplishments.