« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published March 16 2012

Honors and officers (March 17)

Becker recognized with leadership award

Arnell Becker, district manager for Kelly Services, Fargo, has been named as one of the company’s Golden Circle Award winners for the Americas region.

The award is presented to employees who embody the company’s values and commitment to character, and demonstrate outstanding performance as individuals.

Becker, who has been with Kelly Services for more than 30 years, was recognized for her leadership in 2011.

Alberty elected to ND Ag in Classroom Council

Kim Alberty, co-founder and general manager of Agassiz Seed and Supply, West Fargo, has been elected chairman of the North Dakota Ag in the Classroom Council.

The program helps teachers integrate agricultural information into the science, math, social studies, language arts and other classes they teach. The program offers a variety of curricula and class lesson development materials, training seminars, a magazine and other tools for teachers to use to make agriculture part of the school day.

Other council members are Nancy Jo Bateman, North Dakota Beef Commission; Sheri Coleman, Northern Canola Growers Association; Aaron Anderson, North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education; Wendi Stachler, a graduate student at North Dakota State University; and Kirk Olson, McKenzie County Farm Bureau.

Barnes County airport earns excellence award

The Barnes County Municipal Airport in Valley City, N.D., has received the 2011 General Aviation Airport of the Year Award.

The award is sponsored by the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission and recognizes excellence in maintaining safety, project management and community awareness.

Accomplishments in 2011 included reconstruction of the primary runway, new lighting and updated signs. Wireless internet and digital television improvements were also made to the terminal lounge area .

The authority also played an active role in providing fuel for events that provided free airplane rides for the community and awarded an aviation grant to the Valley City Flying Club to help start a flight instruction program.

Fargo Verizon store honored for service

The Verizon Wireless BeMobile store at 2790 S. University Drive, Fargo, has been recognized by Verizon Wireless as the Great Plains Region Store of the Month for January.

The store was recognized for customer service and achieving goals set by Verizon Wireless.

Bierdeman earns award for client achievement

Mark R. Bierdeman, a financial adviser with Ameriprise Financial, Fargo, has received the 2011 Protect Grow Give Award from RiverSource Life Insurance Co.

The award recognizes Ameriprise advisers who have reached benchmarks for helping clients protect income and grow assets.

Packet Digital earns national recognition

Fargo-based Packet Digital was named the electronics and overall innovation challenge winner at the recent Aviation Week 2012 Innovation Challenge in Washington, D.C.

The company was recognized for its PowerSage power management integrated circuits.

Commercial Realtors elect F-M officers

The FM Area Commercial Realtors Exchange (ComEx) has elected officers for 2012. Those elected are:

Rick Flacksbarth, Cityscapes Development, president; Kelly Parrett, Lexstar Real Estate Services, vice president; and Matt Durbin, Konrad Olson Commercial Real Estate, secretary/treasurer.

SK Foods names Master Farmer winners

SK Food International, Fargo, has announced the winners of its annual Master Farmer award for 2010 crop soybeans and dry edible beans.

Through the program, SK Food rewards its contracted growers who deliver the best food-grade quality beans. The winners are:

- Organic soybeans: Lee Thomas, Moorhead, Master Farmer; Jeff Radke, Twin Valley, Minn., first runner-up; Bob Neevel, Marion, N.D., second runner-up.

- Organic dry edible beans: Joe Dufner, Buxton, N.D., Master Farmer (dark red kidney beans); Scott Anderson, Litchfield, Minn., first (black turtle beans); Paul Wilder, second (navy beans).

- Conventional SK095, SK046, SK0033 soybeans: Craig Dewald, Streeter, N.D., Master Farmer; Tom Trautman, Jamestown, N.D., first; Roderick Lentz, Lidgerwood, N.D., second.

- Conventional SK0786 soybeans: Milt Limesand, Marion, N.D., Master Farmer.

- Conventional SK9801 black soybeans: William Koeppe, Claire City, S.D., Master Farmer; Stuart Nichol, Wolverton, Minn., first; Hansmeier & Sons, Bristol, S.D.; second.

- Conventional Thunder 0598/Legend 0557 soybeans: Leon Koeppe, Claire City, Master Farmer: Dwight Johnson, Roseglen, N.D.; first; and Matt and Mark Sirjord, Bejou, Minn., second.

Richard, Storhaug earn U.S. Bank award

Susan Richard, a private client group relationship manager at U.S. Bank’s downtown Fargo branch, and LaVonne Storhaug, branch manager at U.S. Bank’s Lisbon office, have won U.S. Bank’s annual Pinnacle Award, which represents the top 10 percent of U.S. Bank employees in their line of business.

MPS receives award for water protection

Moorhead Public Service has been named recipient of the 2012 Source Water Protection Award for the state of Minnesota.

Moorhead was nominated for the award by the Minnesota Department of Health.

The award recognizes organizations and staff that demonstrate leadership, initiative and a long-term commitment to source water protection efforts.

Anderson elected

MBNA district trustee

David F. Anderson, president of Dakota Monument Co., Fargo, has been elected as a district trustee for the Monument Builders of North America, representing Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

The MBNA is governed by a board of trustees representing 10 districts.

U.S. Bank names six annual award winners

Six U.S. Bank employees have been named Top Performers and Star of Excellence honorees for the state of North Dakota.

The Top Performer award in the Community Banking West Central Division is Karen Eichhorn, a teller at the U.S. Bank office in Wahpeton.

The following employees received the Top Performer award in the Southeast North Dakota market: Nikki Kenyon, sales and service manager, Lisbon; Stacie Leier, teller, Valley City; and Marlene Jorgensen, teller, Wahpeton.

The following employees received the annual Star of Excellence award in the Southeast North Dakota market: Justin Kill, personal banker, Fargo Southwest office; and Stacy Harfield, universal banker, Moorhead.