« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published February 19 2012

Namedroppers (February 19, 2012)

MSCTC: Mary Elizabeth Youngs, Moorhead, and Shawn Seter, Fargo, have been named to the president’s list at Minnesota State Community and Technical College.

NDSU NEWS: Erica Privratsky, daughter of Wade and Shaunna Privratsky, Fargo, and Connor Teske, son of Garth and Sandi Teske, Fargo, have been admitted to North Dakota State University “with distinction.” Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging them as honor students.

MAKING THE GRADE: Fargo students McKenzie Leier, Samuel Christianson and David Karaz were named to the dean’s list at Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. Timothy Roach, Fargo, was named to the president’s list for achieving a 4.0 grade point average.

Adri Holden, Moorhead, was named to the fall semester dean’s list at the University of Minnesota Duluth.

Aimee Knutson, Moorhead, was named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

The following area students were named to the dean’s list at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities: Kaitlin Lange, Audubon, Minn.; Alec Albright, Barnesville, Minn.; Kelsey Dahlgren, Breckenridge, Minn.; Jenna Hansen, Dalton, Minn.; Jade Beauclair, Davenport, N.D.; Alexis Aafedt, Cara Berger, Emma Butzer, Cassandra Foltz, Amber Lee, Megan Morinville, Laura Standal, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Tobey Moe, Dilworth; Jillian Bethke, Taylor Blumer, Claire Bramel, Elizabeth Council, Alexander Duden, Benjamin Heinle, Hannah Karlins, Rachel McGuigan, Katie Schalow, Abhishek Vaidya and Rui Zhong, Fargo; Andrew Banal, Emma Childs, Samantha Dominguez, Carli Ewert, Christopher Jennen, Richard Martinson, Rebecca Nagel, Cody Peck, Edward Roberts, Katelyn Whitehead, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Rebecca Asp, Hankinson, N.D.; Andrew Ulven, Hawley, Minn.; Siri Freeh, Lake Park, Minn.; Katie Anderson, Callie Frost, Dylan Hansen, Brittney Just, Scott Mitchell, Isaac Monke-Lundberg, Kathryn Thibert, Moorhead; Danielle Hessig, Ottertail, Minn.; Daniel Ditch, Pelican Rapids, Minn.; Megan Rasmussen, Rothsay, Minn.; and Kyle Wohlman, West Fargo.

Fargo students Kjai Block and Mallory Hughes were named to the dean’s list at the University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Dustin Jonasson, West Fargo, was named to the dean’s list at Concordia University Wisconsin, Mequon.

BeePee Pajibo, Fargo, and Chad Klavetter, Moorhead, were named to the dean’s list at Vermilion Community College, Ely, Minn.

Fargo students Molly Jackson and Kristen Lundberg were named to the dean’s list at the College of Saint Benedict, St. Joseph, Minn.

Elizabeth Henschel, Fargo, was named to the dean’s list at Winona (Minn.) State University.

Max Wolpert, Crookston, Minn., and Hannah Christianson, Moorhead, were named to the dean’s list at the Berklee College of Music, Boston.

RECENT GRADUATES: John Englund, Fargo, has graduated from University of Wisconsin-Stout, Menomonie.

The following students recently graduated from Bemidji (Minn.) State University: Trista Bengtson and Julia Everts, Battle Lake, Minn.; Michael Jacobson, Jesse Omberg, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Alexander Johnson, Fargo; Stacy Adams, Breanna Johnson and Richard Werner, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Renae Schaefer, Frazee, Minn.; Zachary Wold, Hatton, N.D.; and Derek Rand, Osage, Minn.

GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS: Connor Lewis, Moorhead, has been awarded a Sacks for CR scholarship from the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Under the program, donations are made to the Boomer Esiason Foundation for every quarterback sack recorded during NFL Monday Night Football games. The funds are then awarded to college students with cystic fibrosis based on academic achievement and adherence to daily CF therapy.

CHESS NEWS: The following students were winners in a chess tournament recently held at Fargo’s Centennial Elementary:

Kindergarten through third grade: Allen Wu, first; Isaiah Soori, second; Braxton Middaugh, Will Bachman and Megan Middaugh, third.

Fourth and fifth grade: Steven Eddy, first; Ian Manock, Landen Kjos, second; Jack Machacek, third.

Sixth through eighth grade: Mason Roth, Keshava Katti, Andrew Niehaus, first; Riley Lebahn, Gurtaran Johal, Devin Stenerson, Akrita Saxena, second; Marcus Battlest, third.

Ninth through 12th grade: Matt Stanga, first; Stuart Wolf, second; Ayushi Saxena, Aaron Niehaus, Keyan Farahmand, third.

“Namedroppers” is an occasional Sunday column featuring neighborhood and community news. To view additional community news and photos, visit our blog at www.areavoices.com/namedropper.

Contact Public Editor Angie Wieck at (701) 241-5501 or email her at awieck@forumcomm.com to find out

how to submit your news

and accomplishments.