« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Forum staff reports, Published February 11 2012

South Border powers way to region championship

LAMOURE, N.D. – Blake Bosch, Brayden Kuntz, Drew Dockter and James Thielges each won individual titles to lead South Border to first place at the North Dakota Class B, Region 1 wrestling tournament Saturday.

South Border racked up 218.5 team points. Lisbon was second with 190 points.

Bosch took first place at 126 pounds, Kuntz was first at 138, Dockter was first at 152 and Thielges earned the crown at 182.

Jared Reis of Napoleon and Cody Voegeli of Oakes were named co-senior athletes of the year for Region 1. Joe Kern of Lisbon was named coach of the year.

Taylor Busche (106), Jacob Aberle (113) and Dylan Urbach (132) won region titles for Lisbon.

Team scores: South Border 218.5, Lisbon 190, Oakes 159, Napoleon 156, Linton 143, LaMoure 101, Kindred 84, Ellendale-Edgeley-Kulm 48.

Individual champions

106: Busche, Lisbon, dec. Toepke-Floyd, South Border, 7-2.

113: Aberle, Lisbon, dec. Loepp, Oakes, 4-3.

120: Hebl, LaMoure, major dec. Grunefelder, Napoleon, 11-3.

126: Bosch, South Border, pinned Kelly, Oakes, 0:58.

132: Urbach, Lisbon, pinned Becker, Napoleon, 2:29.

138: Kuntz, South Border, dec. Hamlin, 6-2.

145: Voegeli, Oakes, dec. Nagel, Linton, 9-2.

152: Dockter, South Border, forfeit over Mairs, Lisbon.

160: Heitkamp, Kindred, forfeit over Weigel, Napoleon.

170: Reis, Napoleon, major dec. Jochim, South Border, 22-9.

182: Thielges, South Border, dec. Nelson, Lisbon, 6-5.

195: Jangula, Ellendale-Edgeley-Kulm, pinned Meidinger, South Border, 3:51.

220: Beine, Napoleon, pinned Smith, Lisbon, 3:07.

285: Gross, Linton, major dec. Alo, LaMoure, 8-0.

Third place

106: Moch, Linton, dec. Sell, Oakes, 10-5.

113: Jacob, Linton, dec. Dorich, LaMoure, 11-8.

120: Berg, Lisbon, forfeit over Coleman, Oakes.

126: Wendel, LaMoure, dec. Leier, Linton, 10-8.

132: Meidinger, South Border, pinned Roth, Oakes, 1:44.

138: Olson, Lisbon, forfeit over Jangula, Napoleon.

145: Aberle, Lisbon, dec. Gross, Napoleon, 7-2.

152: Jacob, Linton, dec. Becker, Napoleon, 3-0.

160: Ptacek, Oakes, dec. Meidinger, South Border, 1-0.

170: Johnson, Lisbon, pinned Oien, Linton, 1:42.

182: Schnabel, Ellendale-Edgeley-Kulm, dec. Ketterling, Oakes, 3-1.

195: Dougherty, Kindred, pinned Shockman, LaMoure, 4:49.

220: Dahlgren, Kindred, dec. Foster, Oakes, 1-0.

285: Kelly, Oakes, dec. Rico, South Border, 7-5.

Coach of the year

Joe Kern, Lisbon

Co-senior athlete of the year

Jared Reis, Napoleon; Cody Voegeli, Oakes