« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published December 31 2011

Honors and Officers (December 31, 2011)

NDSU honors ag and extension faculty, staff

North Dakota State University honored several agriculture and Extension Service faculty and staff during an awards ceremony on Dec. 15.

The awards and those honored included:

- Larson/Yaggie Excellence in Research Award: Senay Simsek, assistant professor, Department of Plant Sciences;

- Eugene R. Dahl Excellence in Research Award: Dale Redmer, professor, Department of Animal Sciences;

- Earl and Dorothy Foster Excellence in Teaching Award: Adnan Akyuz, assistant professor, School of Natural Resource Sciences (Soil Science);

- H. Roald and Janet Lund Excellence in Teaching Award: William Wilson, professor, Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics;

- William J. and Angelyn A. Austin Advising Award: Kirk Howatt, associate professor, Department of Plant Sciences;

- Myron and Muriel Johnsrud Excellence in Extension/Outreach Award: Carrie Hammer, Extension equine specialist, Department of Animal Sciences;

- AGSCO Excellence in Extension Award: Ken Hellevang, Extension agricultural engineer, Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering;

- Charles and Linda Moses Staff Award: Mary Finseth, administrative officer, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory;

- Donald and Jo Anderson Staff Award: Sandy Erickson, administrative office manager, Center for Community Vitality; and

- Rick and Jody Burgum Staff Award: Stanley Stancyk, research technician, Department of Plant Sciences.

Fargo Toastmaster club elects new officers

The Toastmaster Top O’ the Morning Club in Fargo has elected Jaclyn Magnusson as president.

Other officers elected include: Carolyn Ballard, vice president of education; Gene Schmidt, vice president of membership; Eloise Deihl, secretary; Carmen Bruhn, treasurer; Roger Johnson, sergeant of arms; and Deb Gilmore, vice president of public relations.

The club meets at noon on the first and third Tuesday of the month at the Sons of Norway in Fargo.

RESTORE Inc. elects two new board members

Nicole Leitner and Todd Pearson have been elected to the RESTORE Inc. board of directors.

RESTORE Inc. monitors compliance with court orders for community-based sentences such as community service, chemical dependency evaluations and domestic violence assessments.

Leitner works for the East Central Juvenile Court as a court officer II. She has been with juvenile court for 15 years.

Pearson is an officer with the West Fargo Police Department, and he has 17 years of law enforcement experience.

U.S. Bank honors five with Pinnacle Award

U.S. Bank has awarded five local and area employees with its Pinnacle Award for outstanding achievement and superior performance during the third quarter of 2011.

The winners are Jackie Ness and Jessica Hoppe, relationship managers in the business banking department in the downtown Fargo office; Brent Kelley, branch manager of the north Fargo office; Linda Hopkins, branch manager of the office in Wahpeton, N.D.; and LaVonne Storhaug, branch manager of the office in Lisbon.

Huff completes rural leadership program

Teresa L. Huff has graduated from Rural Leadership North Dakota. She is a volunteer coordinator for RSVP+ Southern Valley.

She served on the seminar management team for graduation and was a class presenter.

RLND is a two-year program offered by the North Dakota State University Extension Service.

Five win excellence awards at U.S. Bank

U.S. Bank has named Star of Excellence award winners in the Southeast North Dakota market.

The winners include: Stacy Harfield, universal banker, Moorhead office; Cody Jangula, personal banker, downtown Fargo office; Tyler Kummeth, sales and service manager, Moorhead office; Justin Kill, personal banker, southwest office in Fargo; and Ashley Simmons, corporate trainer, downtown Fargo office.

Five Serkland attorneys named Super Lawyers

Five attorneys from the Serkland Law Firm in Fargo, have been selected by their peers as Great Plains Super Lawyers 2011.

Super Lawyers, a Thomson Reuters business, is an annual rating service of outstanding lawyers from more than 70 practice areas who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement.

Those named to the list and their areas of practice include: Jack G. Marcil, alternative dispute resolution, commercial litigation, personal injury; Ronald H. McLean, civil litigation; Roger J. Minch, alternative dispute resolution, banking law, business and commercial law, commercial litigation, creditor-side bankruptcy and creditor’s rights; Maureen Holman, family law; and Joseph A. Wetch Jr., business and commercial law, personal injury, malpractice defense and insurance litigation.

Travel agent receives honor for client service

El Dorado Spa Resorts and Hotels and Azul Hotels by Karisma, Mexico’s premier Gourmet Inclusive beachfront resorts in the Riviera Maya, has awarded Katie Rahr, a travel agent with Travel Leaders Fargo and a certified Gourmet Inclusive Vacation Consultant, with the Top Honor Award, an achievement that indicates a high professional commitment exceeding service standards.

Ulteig earns award from concrete association

Ulteig in Fargo has received the Silver Award from the American Concrete Pavement Association for its work on the runway 15-33 reconstruction at Harry Stern Field in Wahpeton, N.D.

The project required Ulteig to address engineering, operational and financial challenges for a facility that supports the economy of Wahpeton and the surrounding region.

One aspect of the project included the presence of a company within the airport that specializes in military aircraft restoration.

Because the historical aircraft lack modern instrumentation, the concrete addition provides a more visible runway for the pilots and helps protect the aircraft.

Sell, Danuser earn photography honors

Jessica Sell and Bruce Danuser took top honors in the Northwest Professional Photographers Association Photographer of the Year competition.

Sell placed first in the portrait and illustrative categories and was also named the NPPA’s Photographer of the Year.

Danuser earned first place in wedding and photographic artist categories.

Sell is owner of All Event Photography Studio of Fargo, and Danuser is owner and operator of Assignment Photography Inc. and the Photography Training Center, both in Fargo.