« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published October 22 2011

Leingang, Bismarck are champs in ND Class A state boys cross country

FARGO – Jake Leingang would be enough for most cross country teams. However, Bismarck is fortunate enough to have five others just like him.

The Demons had six runners in the top seven en route to a runaway victory during the North Dakota Class A state boys cross country meet Saturday at Rose Creek Golf Course.

“I didn’t really know what to expect in this one, because I haven’t run this course before,” said Leingang, who finished first with a time of 14 minutes, 59.80 seconds. “I was just trying to go with a plan to run pretty even.”

Leingang, a junior who won the prestigious Roy Griak boys Gold race earlier this year in Minneapolis, was dominant en route to his second consecutive individual title.

He shot out to a commanding lead in the opening mile and cruised the rest of the way for the win.

Leingang finished more than 45 seconds ahead of second-place teammate Lane Kashur.

Bismarck’s Preston Lerew was third, Austin Todd was fifth, Brandon Berg sixth and Bryce Rohrich seventh.

The top five runners score points for each team. That means Rohrich’s standout performance didn’t even factor in the final decision.

Bismarck finished first in the team race with 17 points. Dickinson was second at 125 and Grand Forks Central was third at 141.

“My goal was to come in and try to get in under 15 minutes,” Leingang said. “I am happy with my time.”

Todd was selected as senior athlete of the year. Bismarck’s Dave Zittleman and Darrell Anderson were named coaches of the year.

“There are always more things you can do to get better,” Leingang said. “I’m just going to keep doing that and hopefully get better for regionals, and try to make it to nationals. Hopefully, I’m at the top of my game by then.”

Team results: 1. Bismarck 17. 2. Dickinson 125. 3. Grand Forks Central 141. 4. Fargo Davies 174. 5. Williston 184. 6. West Fargo 187. 7. Grand Forks Red River 198. 8. Bismarck Century 199. 9. Minot 201. 10. Fargo North 204. 11. Shanley/Oak Grove 206. 12. Mandan 299. 13. Jamestown 456. 14. Fargo South 547. 15. Turtle Mountain 550. 16. Devils Lake 576. 17. Valley City 641. 18. Wahpeton 649.

Top 40 individual results: 1, Jake Leingang, Bismarck, 14:59.8; 2, Lane Kashur, Bismarck, 15:45.5; 3, Preston Lerew, Bismarck, 15:55.1; 4, Chris Chamberlain, Williston, 15:56.8; 5, Austin Todd, Bismarck, 15:55.0; 6, Brandon Berg, Bismarck, 15:58.0; 7, Bryce Rohrich, Bismarck, 16:14.3; 8, Branden Scheel, Fargo Davies, 16:18.1; 9, Vlad Kutka, Dickinson, 16:21.5; 10, Cataldo DiDonna, Bismarck Century, 16:22.4; 11, Brennan Goldade, Williston, 16:24.8; 12, Matt Gotta, Bismarck, 16:25.1; 13, Tanner Bjorlie, Fargo North, 16:25.5; 14, Seb Startz, Shanley/Oak Grove, 16:26.1; 15, Darin Baltezore, West Fargo, 16:29.1; 16, Paul Shafer, Grand Forks Central, 16:39.2; 17, Andrew Weist, Fargo North, 16:39.4; 18, Jackson Binstock, Dickinson, 16:39.7; 19, Tom Fisher, Grand Forks Central, 16:45.9; 20, Austin Albrecht, West Fargo, 16:48.4.

21, Michael Porter, Dickinson, 16:50.6; 22, Logan Fischer, Bismarck, 16:52.4; 23, Matt Tingum, Grand Forks Red River, 16:53.3; 24, Tom Startz, Shanley/Oak Grove, 16:53.5; 25, Camron Roehl, Grand Forks Central, 16:54.0; 26, Ben Bitter, Fargo Davies, 16:56.4; 27, Chad Zachmeier, Mandan, 17:01.3; 28, Cody Humann, Bismarck, 17:05.4; 29, Joseph Sickler, Dickinson, 17:05.5; 30, Dylan Weber, Minot, 17:07.5; 31, Nathan Aswege, West Fargo, 17:08.3; 32, Sage Walz, Bismarck Century, 17:11.2; 33, Ethan Norstog, Fargo Davies, 17:15.0; 34, Derek Petty, Grand Forks Central, 17:16.2; 35, Jon Fishbeck, Mandan, 17:19.7; 36, Billy Sartwell, Minot, 17:19.9; 37, Byley Bercier, Turtle Mountain, 17:21.7; 38, Adam Leach, Grand Forks Red River, 17:23.7; 39, Brad Conant, Shanley/Oak Grove, 17:24.0; 40, Dylan Sether, Bismarck Century, 17:25.1.

Senior athlete of the year: Austin Todd, Bismarck

Coach of the year: Darrell Anderson and Dave Zittleman, Bismarck

Readers can reach Forum reporter Heath Hotzler at (701) 241-5562.

Hotzler’s blogs can be found at www.areavoices.com