« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published September 29 2011

North Dakota League of Cities holds conference

FARGO – The North Dakota League of Cities recently elected officers and presented awards at its annual conference.

Elected leaders are Don Frye, mayor of Carrington, president; Brad Wimmer, city commissioner from Fargo, vice president; and Lyn James, mayor of Bowman, immediate past president.

Scott Stenerson of Fargo was one of four honored with Hometown Hero Awards for outstanding volunteer contributions. Stenerson is a retired police officer who continues to stay involved with the department, focusing on programs for the homeless.

The group named Oakes City of the Year. The city planted trees, replaced water and sewer lines, added to the school gymnasium, expanded a preschool facility, renovated Main Avenue and more.

Frank Mosser, public works superintendent of Maddock, was named the City Employee of the Year, and Inkster Mayor Ken Ingersoll was named Elected Official of the Year.