« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published May 02 2011

2 metro students chosen as North Dakota's Presidential Scholars

FARGO — Seniors Courtney Ellenson of West Fargo High School and Austin Battles of Oak Grove Lutheran High School in Fargo are North Dakota's 2011 Presidential Scholars.

The award is given annually to one boy and one girl from each state who are chosen by a special commission based on criteria that includes academic achievement, school evaluations, leadership and community service.

Ellenson and Battles will travel to Washington, D.C., in June for an award ceremony and other events.

Their selection was announced Monday by the state's congressional delegation.

Copyright © 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. The information contained in the AP News report may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the prior written authority of The Associated Press.