« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Helmut Schmidt, Published February 27 2011

K-12 notebook: Fargo elementary principals receive state honor

Fargo School District elementary school Principals Bob Rohla and Maggie Mitzel were each recently awarded the “Service to Children Award” by the North Dakota Association of Elementary School Principals.

Rohla is principal of Longfellow Elementary, and Mitzel is principal of Kennedy Elementary.

The award honors individuals who are retiring or leaving the principalship for their service to educating children and for involvement in the NDAESP.

Also honored at the group’s Mid-Winter Conference in Dickinson was Elinor Meckle, principal of both Lisbon Elementary and Lisbon Middle School.

Meckle earned the “Golden Apple Award,” the highest honor bestowed by the NDAESP.

Fairy-tale fun

Moorhead’s Horizon Middle School theater department is presenting the musical comedy “Once Upon a Mattress” this week.

Performances will start at 7 p.m. Thursday through Saturday and 2 p.m. March 6 at the Moorhead High School auditorium, 2300 4th Ave. S.

Thursday’s performance will be sign-language interpreted.

Tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students. Tickets can be purchased at the door or by calling (218) 284-2345.

The musical is an adaptation of the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale “The Princess and the Pea.”

It is directed by Kelly DuBois-Gerchak, with local artists, including Patrick Kasper, David and Kathy Ferreira and Susan Knorr. Don Larew is the scenic and properties designer.

In a good place

Tim Dobbins, a sixth-grader at St. Joseph’s School, took first place in the school’s recent Geography Bee.

Eighth-grader Zach Burd took second, and sixth-grader Molly Anderson was third.

In other St. Joseph’s news:

Five St. Joseph’s students will advance to the regional science fair March 15 at North Dakota State University. They are Bethany Loock, Anna Wilke, Julia Johnson, Liz Bergen and Becky Wilke.

Loock won first place and $100 for the best biological project for her experiment on microbiology and acne.

VFW awards

The West Fargo VFW and Ladies Auxiliary Post 7564 recently hosted the VFW Mid-winter Conference.

Among the awards presented to North Dakota teachers and students were Teacher of the Year. Winners by grade level are:

Winners of the state VFW Voice of Democracy program were: first, Ryan Christianson, Grand Forks; second, David Lund, Cooperstown; and third, Benjamin Bergstrom, Devils Lake.

Winners of the state VFW Patriots Pen program were first, Brynn Hoggan, Memorial Middle School, Minot Air Force Base; second, Emily Hertz, Harvey; and third, Cody Eisenbeisz, Cheney Middle School, West Fargo.

Kindergarten roundup

Kindergarten registration for the 2011-12 school year for students in the West Fargo School District who live north of Interstate 94 (in addition to Amber Valley, Anderson Fields, Osgood Reserve and Shadow Wood) will be held Monday, Tuesday and Thursday starting at 7 p.m. at the Lodoen Kindergarten Center.

Monday is reserved for families with last names beginning A to E; Tuesday for last names beginning F to M; Thursdays for last names N to Z.

The Lodoen Center is at 330 3rd Ave. E.

The meeting is for parents only. Children should not attend.

Kindergarten students must turn 5 before Aug. 1. Registration forms will be filled out, and parents should bring their child’s birth certificate and immunization record.

If you have questions, call (701) 356-2020.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Helmut Schmidt at (701) 241-5583