« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published January 14 2011

2011 Young Artists Solo Competition contest winners named

Patrick Lin, a violinist from Fargo, was the 2011 grand-prize winner in the recent Young Artists Solo Competition.

The competition – co-sponsored by the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony and Classical Minnesota Public Radio 91.1 FM – was open to all high school students grades 10 through 12 living within 150 miles of Fargo-Moorhead or within the state of North Dakota.

Second place went to Eric Haugen, a cellist from Bemidji, Minn. Third place went to Leo Thorp, a flutist from Grand Forks.

Cash awards of $500, $400 and $300 were offered for first, second and third place.

As first-place winner, Lin will play a solo with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony during its “An Evening in Vienna’ concerts on Jan. 22-23. He also won a two-night Minneapolis-area arts event with the cooperation of the Minnesota Orchestra, the Guthrie Theater and the Walker Art Center.