« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published December 13 2010

North Dakota Political Notebook: Committee assignments set for 2011 Legislature

BISMARCK – State lawmakers have released their lists of committee assignments for the 2011 Legislature.


These Republicans serve as chairmen of the House committees:

Appropriations: Jeff Delzer, Underwood; Education and Environment Division: Bob Skarphol, Tioga; Government Operations Division: Blair Thoreson, Fargo; Human Resources Division: Chet Pollert, Carrington.

Human Services: Robin Weisz, Hurdsfield; Industry, Business and Labor: George Keiser, Bismarck; Judiciary: Duane DeKrey, Pettibone; Education: RaeAnn Kelsch, Mandan; Finance and Taxation: Wes Belter, Leonard.

Agriculture: Dennis Johnson, Devils Lake; Government and Veterans Affairs: Bette Grande of Fargo; Natural Resources: Todd Porter of Mandan; Political Subdivisions: Nancy Johnson of Dickinson. Transportation: Dan Ruby of Minot; Constitutional Revisions: Kim Koppelman of West Fargo.


These Republicans will serve as chairmen of the Senate committees:

Appropriations: Ray Holmberg, Grand Forks; Education: Layton Freborg, Underwood; Finance and Taxation: Dwight Cook, Mandan; Industry, Business and Labor: Jerry Klein, Fessenden.

Judiciary: Dave Nething, Jamestown; Human Services: Judy Lee, West Fargo; Government and Veterans Affairs: Dick Dever, Bismarck; Natural Resources: Stan Lyson, Williston. Political Subdivisions: John Andrist, Crosby; Transportation: Gary Lee, Casselton; Agriculture: Tim Flakoll, Fargo.

Budget highlights

The North Dakota executive budget for the 2011-13 biennium is more than 300 pages, so Gov. Jack Dalrymple’s budget address Wednesday couldn’t touch on everything.

Here are some other items included in the budget:

The entire budget can be found at www.nd.gov/fiscal/docs/budget/executivebudgetsummary2011-13.pdf.

Teri Finneman is a multimedia reporter for Forum Communications Co.