« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published November 03 2010

District 21: Dems retain all three seats

The Democratic incumbents maintained control of North Dakota District 21, holding all three legislative seats in Tuesday’s election.

With two of two precincts reporting, Democrat incumbent Carolyn Nelson defeated Republican challenger Cindy Pfeiffer 55 to 45 percent. Nelson took 1,765 votes to Pfeiffer’s 1,427.

Nelson said she was “delighted” with the results.

“I hope I earned (voters’) confidence, and I pledge to work the next four years for them, too,” she said.

In the House race, Democrats Kathy Hogan and Steve Zaiser held their seats, taking 28 and 26 percent of votes, respectively. GOP challengers Rachel Disrud and Jay Schmallen garnered 25 and 21 percent.

Those percentages translate to 1,610 votes for Hogan, 1,503 for Zaiser, 1,460 for Disrud and 1,195 for Schmallen.

“I’m deeply pleased. I’m really humbled by it, and it’s also a little overwhelming,” Hogan said. “It’s a very special feeling.”

The margin between Disrud’s and Zaiser’s vote totals is 0.74 percent, which means that Disrud could request a recount.

Members of both the Senate and House serve four-year terms.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Shane Mercer at (701) 451-5734