« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Eric Peterson, Published September 02 2010

Mikkelson among drivers securing points titles at Red River Valley Speedway

Ryan Mikkelson was glad Wednesday was the start of a new month.

“August hasn’t been good for me and it’s over,” said the B-Modifieds driver from Jamestown, N.D. “I’m glad August is over.”

On the first day of September, Mikkelson overtook Cale Arneson in the standings to earn the season points title at the Red River Valley Speedway. Trailing Arneson by four points heading into the final night, Mikkelson won the B-Modifieds feature to clinch the season crown.

“August was over with and I woke up and I said, ‘It’s a new day and a new month. Forget about August and focus on the big shows and wrapping up a title here,’ ” Mikkelson said.

Mikkelson held a 22-point lead in the points in early August before Arneson rallied to take the points lead heading into Wednesday’s races.

Mikkelson placed second in his heat race before he took the checkered flag in the

20-lap feature. Mikkelson had already won track championships this summer at Jamestown, N.D., and Lisbon, N.D.

“I knew the top (of the track) was good,” Mikkelson said. “Once I got up there and got my groove going and figured out how to run it, I stayed smart.”

Blake Jegtvig continued his mastery at Red River Valley Speedway, winning his third consecutive A-Modifieds points championship. Jegtvig already had the championship clinched heading into the final night. He finished second in the

A-Modifieds feature behind Mitch Johnson.

“It’s just another race,” said Jegtvig, from Hawley, Minn. “I never really look for points championships, I just look to win races and they just kind of end up the way they end up.”

Jegtvig said the West Fargo dirt track was a challenge to tame this summer as it was converted from a half-mile to a three-eighths mile track prior to the season.

“They will get it figured out. It’s going to take awhile I think. Like any new thing, it’s going to take awhile,” Jegtvig said. “It’s really hard place to figure out because it’s always different every night … which in a way is kind of a cool thing because you’re always guessing. It’s hard to come here with a straight set up like you would at any other place.”

Rain shortened the championship night as the final two features – the late models and super stocks – were called due to rain. A light rain started to fall a handful of laps into the late model feature when the races were called.

Cody Skytland was awarded the points crown in late models, while Todd Carter edged Dave Shipley for the super stocks season title. Carter finished three points ahead of Shipley.

Rusty Kollman won the points title in the street stocks, taking first in his heat race before settling for second in the feature.


Heat one: 1, Jerad Thelen, West Fargo. 2, Bryce Borgen, Perley, Minn. 3, Nate Reinke, Lisbon, N.D.

Heat two: 1, Tim Berg, Grand Forks, N.D. 2, Ryan Mikkelson, Jamestown, N.D. 3, Levi Arneson, Fargo.

Feature: 1, Mikkelson. 2, Levi Arneson. 3, Thelen. 4, Reinke. 5, Zach Naastad, Hatton, N.D.

Final points: 1, Mikkelson (698). 2, Cale Arneson, Fargo (684). 3, Levi Arneson (659). 4, Rich Pavlicek, Casselton, N.D. (630). 5, Austin Arneson, Fargo (616).

Street stocks

Heat one: 1, Rusty Kollman, Carrington, N.D. 2, Randy Kollman, Carrington, N.D. 3, Clare Miller, Enderlin, N.D.

Heat two: 1, Jordan Zillmer, Gackle, N.D. 2, Rick Schulz, Horace, N.D. 3, David Goulet, Sauk Rapids, Minn.

Feature: 1, Schulz. 2, Rusty Kollman. 3, Miller. 4, Zillmer. 5, James Tandeski, West Fargo.

Final points: 1, Rusty Kollman (659). 2, Schulz (635). 3, Jason Babcock, Horace, N.D. (611). 4, Tandeski (610). 5, Chris Ritter, Barnesville, Minn. (596).


Heat one: 1, Dustin Strand, Grand Forks, N.D. 2, Mike Bruns, Fargo. 3, Ross Romdalvik, West Fargo.

Heat two: 1, Corky Thomas, Fargo. 2, Mike Greseth, Harwood, N.D. 3, Blake Borgen, Perley, Minn.

Heat three: 1, Mike Stearns, Hecla, S.D. 2, Jason Grimes, Jamestown, N.D. 3, Mitch Johnson, Hickson, N.D.

Feature: 1, Johnson. 2, Blake Jegtvig, Hawley, Minn. 3, Thomas. 4, Greseth. 5, Romdalvik.

Final points: 1, Jegtvig (652). 2, Greseth (556). 3, Jon Bachmeier, Fargo (523). 4, Jason Strand, Portland, N.D. (487). 5, Thomas (483).

Late models

Heat one: 1, Ricky Weiss, St. Francios Xavier, Man. 2, Brock Gronwold, Fergus Falls, Minn. 3, Cole Schill, West Fargo.

Heat two: 1, Matt Aukland, Fargo. 2, Cody Skytland, Fargo. 3, Mitch Johnson, Hickson, N.D.

Feature: called due to rain.

Final points: 1, Skytland (580). 2, Jeremy Keller, Mandan, N.D. (565). 3, Weiss (552). 4, Michael Johnson, Moorhead (535). 5, Mike Balcaen, Winnipeg, Man. (434).

Super stocks

Heat one: 1, Todd Carter, Lisbon, N.D. 2, Scott Jacobson, Fargo. 3, Kevin Robertson, Enderlin, N.D.

Heat two: 1, Dave Shipley, West Fargo. 2, Ty Hanten, West Fargo. 3, Bill Wadeson, Alice, N.D.

Heat three: 1, Brian Bernotas, Dwight, N.D. 2, Billy Michaelson, West Fargo. 3, Dusty Peterson, Fargo.

Feature: called due to rain.

Final points: 1, Carter (630). 2, Shipley (627). 3, Hanten (600). 4, Bernotas (595). 5, Robertson (587).

Readers can reach Forum reporter Eric Peterson at (701) 241-5513.

Peterson’s blogs can be found at www.areavoices.com