« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published July 09 2010

North Dakota tobacco committee approves 23 grants

BISMARCK – Nearly $3 million in annual grants to 23 public health units have been approved by the North Dakota Tobacco Prevention and Control Advisory Committee.

The grants went to all counties and are used to implement “Saving Lives – Saving Money,” the state’s five-year plan to reduce tobacco use.

The grants will help develop policies, programs and services to prevent youths and young adults from starting tobacco use, encourage tobacco users to quit and eliminate exposure to secondhand smoke.

Grant awards include:

City County Health District, Valley City, $67,387; Bismarck Burleigh Public Health, $290,412; Cavalier County Health District, $43,444; Custer Health, Mandan, $178,494.

Dickey County Health District, $48,330; Fargo/Cass Public Health, $487,622; First District Health Unit, Minot, $309,060; Foster County Public Health, $41,571; Grand Forks Public Health, $248,048.

Lake Region District Health Unit, Devils Lake, $126,330; Nelson/Griggs District Health Unit, $59,338; Pembina County Public Health, $27,847; Ransom County Public Health, $47,095; Richland County Health Department, $87,169.

Rolette County Public Health District, $77,800; Sargent County District Health Unit, $44,168; Southwestern District Health Unit, Dickinson, $163,310; Towner County Public Health District, $37,707; Upper Missouri District Health Unit, Williston, $154,060; Walsh County Health District, $68,080.

Wells County District Health Unit, $44,669; Traill District Health Unit and Steele County Public Health, $82,842; Central Valley Health District, Jamestown and Emmons County Public Health, Kidder County Public Health, LaMoure County Public Health and McIntosh County Public Health, $256,203.