« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Dave Olson, Published June 09 2010

West Fargo Park Board: Two incumbents re-elected; McCracken will replace Zetocha

Complete but unofficial results Tuesday night showed two incumbents and one challenger taking three open seats on the West Fargo Park Board.

With seven of seven precincts reporting, incumbent Sharon Odegaard had 26 percent of the vote, followed by fellow incumbent Denise Johnson and challenger Jeff McCracken with 25 percent each.

Incumbent Ken Zetocha had 24 percent of the vote.

Odegaard received 1,469 votes, Johnson 1,387, McCracken 1,380 and Zetocha 1,309.

Odegaard could not be reached for comment late Tuesday.

Both Johnson and McCracken said they were pleased with and excited by Tuesday’s vote.

During the run-up to the election, many of the candidates identified a new pool, or an expanded aquatic center, as topping the list of West Fargo’s needs.

“That’s got to be our first major, major project,” said Zetocha, who was seeking a third term.

“We know that if we don’t get moving one of these days, there’s going to be nowhere for those kids to swim, which would just be sad,” said Odegaard, who has served on the board since 1994.

Candidates also cited a need to keep park development on pace with the city’s growth.

“Our greatest challenge in the past several years has been the rapid growth of residential areas,” said Johnson, who joined the board in 1990.

West Fargo Park Board members serve four-year terms, earning $1,885 per year.

A total of five people serve on the board.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Dave Olson at (701) 241-5555