« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published June 08 2010

WEST FARGO CITY COMMISSION: Incumbent Bennett, newcomer Hanson elected

WEST FARGO - West Fargo voters have chosen incumbent Lou Bennett to remain on the City Commission and former School Board member Duane Hanson to join him, according to complete but unofficial election results.

Bennett received 1,397 votes, or 34 percent of the vote, and Hanson received 1,060 votes, or 26 percent.

Challenging candidates Duane Breitling and Richard Lewis fell short.

Breitling received 865 votes, or 21 percent, and Lewis received 721 votes, or 18 percent.

Voters could cast ballots in favor of two out of the four candidates.

West Fargo’s commission is comprised of the mayor and four commissioners. Commissioners serve four-year terms and receive an annual salary of $7,425.

Commissioner Bryan Schulz did not seek re-election. He attended his final commission meeting Monday night after serving eight years on the board.

For full election coverage, read Wednesday’s Forum.

Inforum searchword: West Fargo

Readers can reach Forum reporter

Kristen Daum at (701) 241-5541