« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published June 08 2010

FARGO SCHOOL BOARD: Coates, Papachek, Wallman, Goldenberg and Steen elected

FARGO - Challengers made a strong showing in a tight election for Fargo School Board, where three new faces will turn up in July.

In complete but unofficial results, newcomers Linda Coates, Rusty Papachek and Kris Wallman snagged three of five seats up for grabs on the nine-member board. Incumbents Dinah Goldenberg and Rick Steen will serve another four-year term. Board President Dan Fremling and fellow incumbent Don Faulkner lost their seats.

Coates led with 3,993 votes, or roughly 14 percent, followed by Steen (3,794 votes, or 13.5 percent), Papachek (3,435, or a little more than 12 percent), Goldenberg (3,248, or 11.6 percent) and Wallman (3,189, or 11.4 percent). Trailing them were Fremling (3,146, or 11.2 percent), Faulkner (2,826, or roughly 10 percent), Jon Offutt (2,756 votes, 9.8 percent) and Michael Jablon (1,593, 5.6 percent).