« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published May 23 2010

Area students receive $5K Alger scholarships

The Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans has awarded scholarships to several high school students in North Dakota.

Each will receive $5,000 to assist in funding their college education. The students were selected because they persevered in overcoming adversity while demonstrating excellence in academics, admirable character and community contributions.

The North Dakota scholarships are made possible by The Burlington Northern Santa Fe Foundation, which has supported the state with scholarships through the Horatio Alger Association for four years.

Area North Dakota high school students who received the award include: Evan Bong, Fargo; Dayna Dick, Brandon Goering, Mayville; Sarah Johnston, Ellendale; Nathan Kinneberg, McVille; Andrew Koehn, Jamestown; Tanasha Krull, Walcott; Cassandra Kunze, Dazey; Adam Ladwig, Oakes; and Carlene Ternes, Strasburg.