« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Dave Olson, Published May 19 2010

Clay County sheriff, others seek re-election

Clay County Sheriff Bill Bergquist is one of several county officials who filed candidacy papers Tuesday to run for re-election.

The list of incumbents running again includes Auditor Lori Johnson and County Commissioners Jon Evert and Kevin Campbell.

Brian Melton’s term as Clay County attorney is also up.

He had not filed candidacy papers as of Tuesday, the first day of the filing period, which closes June 1.

When it comes to Minnesota state offices, Keith Langseth, DFL-Glyndon, has filed to run again for his Senate seat in District 9.

As of Tuesday, Rep. Morrie Lanning, R-Moorhead, had not filed to keep his House District 9A seat.

Rep. Paul Marquart, DFL-Dilworth, also had not filed papers to seek re-election to his House District 9B seat.

The district court judgeship held by Michael Kirk is also up for election this year. Kirk had not filed for re-election as of Tuesday.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Dave Olson at (701) 241-5555