« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Associated Press, Published May 01 2010

Obama declares flood disaster in 22 North Dakota counties

BISMARCK – President Barack Obama has declared a federal disaster for 22 North Dakota counties and the Spirit Lake Sioux Indian reservation.

The move will provide federal aid to repair damage from recent spring flooding. Gov. John Hoeven said Friday that it should apply to damage that’s happened since Feb. 26.

The declaration means the federal government will cover three-quarters of the cost of repairing public works.

The affected counties are Barnes, Benson, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Logan, Mercer, Morton, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Stutsman, Traill, Walsh and Wells.

Earlier, the president declared a disaster for 12 North Dakota counties and the Standing Rock Sioux reservation in response to an early April snowstorm.

Copyright © 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. The information contained in the AP News report may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the prior written authority of The Associated Press.