« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Amy Dalrymple, Forum News Service, Published March 02 2010

21 apply so far for NDSU president

The North Dakota State University president search has 21 candidates so far, including several with presidencies or vice presidencies on their resumes.

Monday was a “soft deadline” for the search, but additional applications are expected this week, said search committee chairman Steve Swiontek.

The committee, which meets Thursday to begin screening candidates, will determine how long to keep the search open.

Three applicants are local: Dick Hanson, interim president; D.C. Coston, vice president for agriculture and university extension; and James Carlson, co-founder of PRACS Institute.

The others are:

  • Stanley Battle, consultant for Connecticut State University System and former chancellor of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University.

  • David Bejou, dean of business and economics, Elizabeth City (N.C.) State University.

  • Barry Bequette, dean of agriculture, Alcorn (Miss.) State University.

  • Don Birx, vice chancellor/president for research, University of Houston System.

  • Dean Bresciani, adjunct professor and former vice president for student affairs, Texas A&M University.

  • John Gardner, vice president for economic development and global engagement, Washington State University. From 1987 to 1996, Gardner was director of the NDSU Carrington Research Extension Center.

  • John Garvin, president, Pueblo Community College in Colorado.

  • Geri Hockfield Malandra, a consultant who recently was vice chancellor for strategic management, University of Texas System.

  • John Keenan, president and founder of the Institute for Leadership and Global Education, Orchard Park, N.Y../Dubai.

  • Susan Kelly, a consultant who recently was president of Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles.

  • Thomas Keon, dean of the College of Business Administration at the University of Central Florida in Orlando.

  • Anil Kumar, professor and chairman of the Division of Pharmacology, University of Missouri, Kansas City.

  • Lawrence McCrank, dean of library and information services, Chicago State University.

  • Priscilla Nelson, professor of civil and environmental engineering, New Jersey Institute of Technology.

  • Ben Pourbabai, executive vice president for Automatica Inc., a technology development and consulting company, in Reston, Va.

  • Charles Protko, chief operations and support services officer, Irwin Holding Co. in California.

  • Chris Sliwa, who most recently worked as associate professor of Spanish for Fayetteville (N.C.) State University.

  • Richard Wueste, former president, Adams State College in Colorado.

    Readers can reach Forum reporter Amy Dalrymple at (701) 241-5590