« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published February 13 2010

17 file for posts on White Earth Tribal Council

Seventeen people have filed to run for three positions on the White Earth Reservation Tribal Council in a primary election set for March 30.

The two candidates with the most votes in each race will advance to the general election set for June 8.

Nine people have filed to run for the position of secretary-treasurer. The candidates are:

Robert J. Durant; Michael “Stink” Bevins; Henry G. Fox; Diana King; Teresa St. Claire; Eugene “Bugger” McArthur; Marvin “Moss” Tibbetts; Tara Mason and Barb Fabre.

Incumbent Franklin “Bud” Heisler did not file for re-election.

Two people, Irene “Rene” Auginaush, the incumbent, and Steven “Punky” Clark, have filed for the District I representative seat. They both will automatically move on to the general election June 8.

Six people have filed to run for the District II representative seat.

The candidates in that race are: incumbent Terrence “Terry” Tibbetts; Patrick Scott Sr.; Kenneth M. Coleman Jr.; Rena Henry Vizenor; Darrell “Boone” Wadena; and Charlotte “Char” Lee.