« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published February 09 2010

Walaker presented Forum’s ‘Area Person of the Year’ award

Fargo Mayor Dennis Walaker was officially presented The Forum’s 2009 “Area Person of the Year” award Monday by leaders of last year’s winners, the area’s youth.

Joe Burgum, a junior at Fargo Oak Grove Lutheran School, with other representatives from area high schools and colleges, presented a framed copy of the Dec. 31 edition of The Forum to the mayor during the City Commission meeting. He cited Walaker’s “vision and leadership” during the 2009 flood fight for the honor.

Walaker thanked the group, but declined to comment further.

Fargo-Moorhead’s young people won the 2008 honor for their aid to the poor, hungry and homeless. The 2007 winner was WDAY radio personality Tracy Briggs for organizing World War II Honor Flights. The 2006 winner was Joseph Chapman, former North Dakota State University president.