« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Published November 27 2009

42 North Dakota counties approved in crop disaster declaration

BISMARCK, N.D. — Gov. John Hoeven says federal Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has approved a disaster declaration covering weather-related crop damage in 42 North Dakota counties.

Hoeven made the request earlier because of severe weather including spring flooding.

The 24 primary disaster counties are Adams, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cavalier, Dickey, Divide, Eddy, Grand Forks, Griggs, LaMoure, McHenry, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Steele, Towner, Traill and Walsh.

Under federal law, an additional 18 contiguous counties also are eligible for assistance. They are Barnes, Bowman, Cass, Foster, Grant, Hettinger, Logan, McIntosh, McLean, Mountrail, Renville, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, Stutsman, Ward, Wells and Williams.

The counties of Bowman, Grant, Oliver and Slope did not qualify for the secretarial disaster declaration, but ranchers in those counties might be eligible for aid under USDA's Livestock Indemnity Program.

Copyright © 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. The information contained in the AP News report may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the prior written authority of The Associated Press.