« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Heath Hotzler, Published October 03 2009

ND High School boys tennis: Greater by the dozen

Some records may not have been made to be broken.

The Grand Forks Red River boys tennis team earned its 12th consecutive North Dakota state title with a convincing 5-0 victory against Fargo South on Friday at Courts Plus.

The Roughriders have now won 134 consecutive dual matches, a streak that dates back to 2000.

“It will happen some day I assume,” Red River coach Greg LaDouceur said of a potential end to the winning streak. “I hope not for a long time. We just go out and try to take care of business.”

Red River’s entire lineup took care of business in decisive fashion against the Bruins.

The Roughriders breezed through most of their matches, including a 6-3, 6-4 win by Erik Johnson over reigning East Region singles champ Parker Lawley.

Red River defeated South 4-1 last week at the East Region tournament, with Lawley picking up South’s only win.

“Erik Johnson was just too tough today for Parker,” South coach Vic Youngs said. “He did not miss much at all. They are just very, very good. What are you going to do? There is such a small margin for error.”

South shifted its lineup around to strengthen its doubles lineup.

Usual No. 2 singles player Eric Moe partnered with Evan Bong at No. 1 doubles. Red River’s Jake LaDouceur and Phil Yunker won the match 6-2, 6-4.

Jake LaDouceur is vying for his fourth state doubles title in the individual tournament.

South’s No. 3 singles player Erik Diederich was put with Justin Beach at No. 2 doubles. Roughrider eighth-grader Joey Anderson and seventh-grader Greg Wischer won the match 6-1, 6-3.

“Tip your hat to South,” Greg LaDouceur said. “They threw everything they had at us, and I thought our guys responded very well. I’m surprised. I’ll take a 3-2 match any day. To get all five in a championship match against a caliber of team like South is jut a great accomplishment for these boys.”

Team finals

Grand Forks Red River 5, Fargo South 0


1, Johnson, GFRR, def. Lawley 6-2, 6-4. 2, Lee, GFRR, def. O’Day 6-0, 6-0. 3, Hoverson, GFRR, def. Rajender 6-2, 6-2.


1, LaDouceur/Yunker, GFRR, def. Bong/Moe 6-2, 6-1. 2, Anderson/Wischer, GFRR, def. Diederich/Beach 6-1, 6-3.

Third place

Bismarck Century 3, Bismarck 2


1, Bakke, B, def. Hofstad 6-0, 6-0. 2, Cleary, B, dec. Janes 6-3, 6-1. 3, Lo, BC, def. Lange 7-6 (7-4), 7-5.


1, Spooner/Holmen, BC, def. Kramer/Morgan 6-4, 6-1. 2, Anderson/Mastel, BC, def. Muscha/Alvashere 6-4, 6-3.

Fifth place

Williston 3, Mandan 2


1, Nelson, W, def. Boehm 6-2, 4-6, 6-2. 2, Ja. Wanner, M, def. Glenn 7-5, 2-6, 7-6 (7-2). 3, Jo. Wanner, M, def. Monsalve Wagner 6-3, 6-3.


1, McFarlin/Kleven, W, def. Kist/Vogel 6-4, 6-1. 2, Imsland/Long, W, def. Berger/Connor 4-6, 6-2, 6-0.


Championship bracket

First round

Bakke, Bismarck def. Russell, Fargo North, 6-2, 6-2

Lee, Grand Forks Red River def. Oothoudt, Minot, 6-0, 6-0

Cleary, B def. Reimers, Valley City, 6-4, 7-5.

Johnson, GFRR def. Lo, Bismarck Century, 6-1, 6-0

Anderson, BC def. Moe, Fargo South, 6-3, 6-2

Fuka, BC, def. Berg, Dickinson, 6-2, 6-3.

Hoverson, GFRR def. Boehm, Mandan, 6-3,6-4

Lawley, FS def. Kramer, B, 6-1, 6-1


Bakke, B def. Lee, GFRR, 6-1, 6-4

Johnson, GFRR def. Cleary, B, 6-4, 7-5

Fuka, GFC def. Anderson, BC 6-3, 6-1

Lawley, FS, def. Hoverson, GFRR, 6-1, 6-5

Consolation bracket

Russell, FN def. Oothoudt, Minot, 6-4, 4-6, 6-4

Reimers, VC def. LO, BC, 6-0, 6-2

Moe, FS, def. Berg, D, 6-0, 6-0

Boehn, Mandan def. Kramer, B, 6-0, 6-2


Championship bracket

Glenn/Nelson, Williston def. Bong/Beach, Fargo South 4-6, 6-1, 6-3.

Moody/Moe, Grand Forks Central, def. Kleven/McFarlin, Williston 6-4, 6-3.

Rummel/Van Eli, Dickinson, def. Kompelien/Christianson, Wahpeton 6-2, 6-3.

Frei/Schwandt, Fargo Shanley def. Janes/Mastel, Bismarck Century 6-3, 6-3

Ja. Wanner/Jo. Wanner, Mandan def. Hochstatter/O’Day, FS 2-6, 6-4, 6-0.

Wischer/Anderson, Grand Forks Red River def. Morgan/Muscha, Bismarck 6-0, 6-1

Holmen/Spooner, BC def. O’Donnell/Johnson, S 6-1, 6-2.

LaDouceur/Yunker, GFRR def. Magstad/Miller, D 6-0, 6-0.


Glenn/Nelson, Williston, def. Moody/Moe, GFC 6-4, 6-1.

Frei/Schwandt, S def. Rummel/Van Eli 7-6 (7-4), 6-3.

Wischer/Anderson, GFRR def. Ja. Wanner/Jo. Wanner, M 6-2, 6-2.

LaDouceur/Yunker, GFRR def. Holmen/Spooner, BC, 6-0, 7-5.

Consolation bracket

Bong/Beach, FS def. Kleven/McFarlin, Williston, 6-4, 5-7, 6-4.

Kompelien/Christianson, Wahpeton def. Janes/Mastel, BC, 6-2, 7-6 (7-1).

Morgan/Muscha, B, def. Hochstatter/O’Day, FS, 6-4, 7-6 (7-2).

O’Donnell/Johnson, S, def. Magstad/Miller, D, 6-2, 6-2.

Readers can reach Forum reporter

Heath Hotzler at (701) 241-5562