« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Kerry Collins, Published August 29 2009

Gronwold does it for his dad, picking up RRV Speedway season points title

Brock Gronwold was racing for more than a points title at Red River Valley Speedway on Friday.

With his dad in the hospital recovering from heart bypass surgery, Gronwold led every lap on the way to winning the Midwest Modifieds feature.

The victory wrapped up his second points championship at the West Fargo track. Gronwold entered the night with a 14-point lead over Rich Pavlicek in the points standings.

Gronwold also won the points title at the track back in 2007.

There were no surprises at Red River Valley Speedway’s championship night on Friday.

All of the points leaders entering Friday’s show held on for titles at the West Fargo track’s season finale.

The closest class was the Super Stocks, where Todd Carter led Dave Shipley by eight points going into Friday.

Carter ran away from the field en route to the feature win and his third points title in a row and fourth in the last five seasons.

Corry VanMil entered the finale with a 37-point lead in the Mod Fours.

He showed the form that got him there, leading every lap of Friday’s feature on the way to his third win of the season.

Blake Jegtvig led the Modifieds standings by 29 points, and locked up the championship by winning his fifth feature of the season at RRVS.

It was Jegtvig’s first win at the West Fargo track since July 17.

In the Street Stocks, Royce Jawaski came in with a 16-point lead, and held on for his third RRVS points title in the class.

The Horace, N.D., driver won the points title, but West Fargo’s James Tandeski won Friday’s feature. Jawaski was third.

The Late Models feature was not finished with The Forum went to press.

Street Stocks

First heat: 1, Jason Babcock, Horace, N.D. 2, Royce Jawaski, Horace, N.D. 3, David Goulet, Sauk Rapids, Minn.

Feature: 1, James Tandeski, West Fargo. 2, Babcock. 3, Jawaski. 4, Rick Schulz, Fargo. 5, Goulet.

Mod Fours

First heat: 1, Corry VanMil, Lake Park, Minn. 2, Michael Griffin, Mahnomen, Minn. 3, Troy Kuehl, Glyndon, Minn.

Second heat: 1, Josh Abrahamson, Moorhead. 2, Rob VanMil, Hawley, Minn. 3, Tyler Hall, Fertile, Minn.

Feature: 1, C. VanMil. 2. Abrahamson. 3, Brennan Borg, Fargo. 4, Kuehl. 5, Griffin.

Midwest Modifieds

First heat: 1, Ryan Restad, Fargo. 2, Rich Pavlicek, Casselton, N.D. 3, Levi Arneson, Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Randy Klein, Fargo. 2, Jason Strand, Portland, N.D. 3, Brian Krog, Fergus Falls, Minn.

Feature: 1, Brock Gronwold, Fergus Falls, Minn. 2, Shayne Laske, Moorhead. 3, Pavlicek. 4, Cale Arneson, Fargo. 5, Krog.

Late Models

First heat: 1, Greg Meyer, Wahpeton, N.D. 2, Jeremy Keller, Mandan, N.D. 3, Casey Meyer, Wahpeton, N.D.

Second heat: 1, Matt Aukland, Fargo. 2, Jeff Wildung, Nassau, Minn. 3, Cody Skytland, Edmore, N.D.

Feature: Race not finished at press time.

Make-up feature (from Aug. 21): 1, Wildung. 2, Skytland. 3, Aukland. 4, Keller. 5, G. Meyer.

Super Stocks

First heat: 1, Todd Carter, Lisbon, N.D. 2, Erik Robertson, Enderlin, N.D. 3, Jeff Hapala, West Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Dave Shipley, Fargo. 2, Brian Bernotas, West Fargo. 3, Jason Smith, West Fargo.

Third heat: 1, Ty Hanten, West Fargo. 2, Chad Ohnstad, Harwood, N.D. 3, Kevin Robertson, Enderlin, N.D.

Feature: 1, Carter. 2, Hapala. 3, K. Robertson. 4, Shipley. 5, Hanten.


First heat: 1, Blake Jegtvig, Hawley, Minn. 2, Michael Greseth, Harwood, N.D. 3, Dale Kraling, Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Blake Borgen, Perley, Minn. 2, Dev Malmlov, Moorhead. 3, Mitch Johnson, Fargo.

Feature: 1, Jegtvig. 2, Greseth. 3, Johnson. 4, Kraling. 5, Malmlov.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Kerry Collins at (701) 241-5548.

Collins’ blogs can be found at www.areavoices.com