« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Kerry Collins, Published August 08 2009

Jensen snatches 1st victory of the season

Friday’s dismal weather didn’t affect everybody. Everything was bright and sunny with Charlie Jensen.

Jensen’s first win of the season – and third of his career – was a lesson in domination on Friday at Red River Valley Speedway.

After blasting away everyone in his heat race, the Glyndon, Minn., driver won the Midwest Modifieds feature by nearly half a lap.

“I just used the same setup we used last year on a tacky track when we won, and it worked again,” Jensen said. “I don’t know about the weather, but I’d like to have this same track again.”

He led every lap of the feature, and it took him just three laps to open up a straightaway-length lead on the field in the caution-free field.

Jensen was happy to see no yellows during the feature, but the light mist of rain was an annoyance.

“That definitely helped, but the rain was a bit of a problem,” Jensen said. “It was getting tough to see.”

It was also tough for anybody else in the field to see Jensen. The first win of the season was a relief, and he’s hoping this leads to more this season.

“It’s a big plus,” Jensen said. “We got smashed up here about three weeks ago, so this was good for us.”

Casey Meyer of Wahpeton, N.D., was well ahead of the field in the Late Models feature, but blew an engine with 11 laps to go. The 20-year-old was trying to get his first career win at RRVS.

Points leader Jeremy Keller took over, and never gave up the lead on the way to the win.

Jeff Hapala got his first win of the season at RRVS in the Super Stocks, holding off Todd Carter and Ty Hanten en route to the checkered flag.

Josh Abrhamson left everybody in the dust in the Mod Fours feature, winning by nearly a straightaway.

It was his sixth win overall this season, and second at RRVS.

In the Street Stocks, Clare Miller sneaked past Rick Schulz on the final lap, and won the feature by half a car length. It was Miller’s second feature win of the year.

Street Stocks

First heat: 1, Ryan Pommerer, Jamestown, N.D. 2, Rick Schulz, Fargo. 3, Royce Jawaski, Horace, N.D.

Feature: 1, Clare Miller, Enderlin, N.D. 2, Schulz. 3, Nic Klein, Fargo. 4, Jawaski. 5, James Tandeski, West Fargo.

Mod Fours

First heat: 1, Corry VanMil, Lake Park, Minn. 2, Josh Abrahamson, Moorhead. 3, Bryce Bjerken, Felton, Minn.

Second heat: 1, Justin Bjorklund, Renville, Minn. 2, Rob VanMil, Hawley, Minn. 3, Karmith Christensen, West Fargo.

Feature: 1, Abrahamson. 2, C. VanMil. 3, Bjorklund. 4, R. VanMil. 5, James Rosenthal, Hendrum, Minn.

Midwest Modifieds

First heat: 1, Rich Pavlicek, Casselton, N.D. 2, Dustin Beutler, West Fargo. 3, Brock Gronwold, Fergus Falls, Minn.

Second heat: 1, Charles Jensen, Glyndon, Minn. 2, Cale Arneson, Fargo. 3, Levi Arneson, Fargo.

Feature: 1, Jensen. 2, C. Arneson. 3, Pavlicek. 4, L. Arneson. 5, Lance Schill, Langdon, N.D.

Super Stocks

First heat: 1, Scott Jacobson, Fargo. 2, David Thompson, Fargo. 3, Ty Hanten, West Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Kevin Robertson, Enderlin, N.D. 2, Dave Shipley, Fargo. 3, Chad Ohnstad, Harwood, N.D.

Third heat: 1, Todd Carter, Lisbon, N.D. 2, Jeff Hapala, Fargo. 3, Terry Dale, Portland, N.D.

Feature: 1, Hapala. 2, Carter. 3, Hanten. 4, Dale. 5, Robertson.


First heat: 1, Christopher Prussman, Brookings, S.D. 2, Corey Seckerson, Jamestown, N.D. 3, Jon Bachmeier, Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Michael Greseth, Harwood, N.D. 2, John Corell, Jamestown, N.D. 3, Chad Ohnstad, Harwood, N.D.

Feature: 1, Ohnstad. 2, Seckerson. 3, Prussman. 4, Mitch Johnson, Hickson, N.D. 5, Greseth.

Late Models

First heat: 1, Jeremy Keller, Mandan, N.D. 2, Casey Meyer, Wahpeton, N.D. 3, Jeff Wildung, Nassau, Minn.

Feature: 1, Keller. 2, Harold Schill, West Fargo. 3, Wildung. 4, Greg Meyer, Wahpeton, N.D. 5, Michael Johnson, Fargo.

Readers can reach Forum reporter

Kerry Collins at (701) 241-5548.

Collins’ blogs can be found

at www.areavoices.com