« Continue Browsing

e-mail article Print     e-mail article E-mail

Kerry Collins, Published August 02 2009

Red River Valley Speedway: Arneson wins, with some help

Austin Arneson’s recipe for success at Red River Valley Speedway isn’t complicated. He just needs some help from the other drivers.

For the second time this season at the West Fargo track, the Midwest Modifieds ran a caution-free feature. Arneson has won them both – including a win on Saturday.

“It doesn’t happen that often, but the last time it did was the last time I won,” Arneson said. “It’s pretty sweet.”

An excited Arneson pumped his fist outside of his window as he crossed the finish line and took the checkered flag.

Don’t knock him for the excitement. Saturday’s show featured double payouts and double points.

Making Arneson’s win even better was the fact that his brother, Cale, finished second

“Going first and second is pretty tough to beat when you do it at the big show,” Austin said.

The regular weekly races were rained out on Friday, but Saturday’s “Double Dipper” featured four classes and some clean racing – at the start.

The first three features were slowed by just one caution in the three races combined. The Super Stocks had three early cautions, but ran the last 17 laps without a yellow flag.

That’s just how Austin Arneson likes it.

“I made a little mistake on the first corner of the first lap, and that was it,” Austin said. “After that, it pretty much looked like I knew what I was doing.

“I knew I had a good car.”

Kevin Robertson passed Corky Thomas with six laps to go in the Super Stocks feature to score the victory. It was the Enderlin, N.D., driver’s first win of the year at Red River Valley Speedway.

James Tandeski also picked up his first win of the season at RRVS in the Street Stocks, holding off Royce Jawaski in the victory.

The Arneson’s were the only family act on Saturday. Corry VanMil took the feature in the Mod Fours, and his son, Rob VanMil, was second.

Street Stocks

First heat: 1, Travis Berends, Montevideo, Minn. 2, Royce Jawaski, Horace, N.D. 3, James Tandeski, West Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Ryan Pommerer, Jamestown, N.D. 2, Nic Klein, Fargo. 3, Justin Tammen, Clara City, Minn.

Feature: 1, Tandeski. 2, Jawaski. 3, Berends. 4, Klein. 5, Rich Schulz, Fargo.

Mod Fours

First heat: 1, Jim Erdmann, Horace, N.D. 2, Justin Smith. 3, Troy Kuehl, Glyndon, Minn.

Second heat: 1, Corry VanMil, Lake Park, Minn. 2, Josh Abrahamson, Moorhead. 3, Rob VanMil, Hawley, Minn.

Feature: 1, C. VanMil. 2, R. VanMil. 3, Abrahamson. 4, Erdmann. 5, Smith.

Midwest Modifieds

First heat: 1, Jason Strand, Portland, N.D. 2, Ryan Restad, Fargo. 3, Cale Arneson, Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Rich Pavlicek, Casselton, N.D. 2, Taylor Weight, LaMoure, N.D. 3, Scott Jacobson, Fargo.

Third heat: 1, Brock Gronwold, Fergus Falls, Minn. 2, Austin Arneson, Fargo. 3, Shayne Laske, Moorhead.

Feature: 1, A. Arneson. 2, C. Arneson. 3, Pavlicek. 4, Strand. 5, Dale Kraling, Fargo.

Super Stocks

First heat: 1, Dave Shipley, Fargo. 2, Bill Wadeson, Alice, N.D. 3, Jeff Hapala, Fargo.

Second heat: 1, Corky Thomas, Fargo. 2, Todd Carter, Lisbon, N.D. 3, Kevin Robertson, Enderlin, N.D.

Third heat: 1, Chad Ohnstad, Harwood, N.D. 2, Brian Bernotas, West Fargo. 3, Terry Dale, Portland, N.D.

Feature: 1, Robertson. 2, Thomas. 3, Ty Hanten, West Fargo. 4, Shipley. 5, Ohnstad.

Readers can reach Forum reporter Kerry Collins at (701) 241-5548. Collins’ blogs can be found at www.areavoices.com